World T20 2016: Virender Sehwag picks his 4 semi-finalists

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, March 7: Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag has picked his four semi-finalists for the ICC World Twenty20 2016 tournament, which starts from tomorrow (March 8).

World T20 schedule and squads

Sehwag, who was today (March 7) speaking at "Salaam Cricket 2016" conclave organised by "India Today", said Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led India will win the trophy.

A file picture of Virender Sehwag

World T20 will be played in India from March 8 to April 3. Kolkata's Eden Gardens will host the title clash.

The 37-year-old Sehwag said, India, New Zealand, West Indies and South Africa will reach the semi-finals.

Stating that India was in a "tough group" with Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and a Qualifier (from 1st stage), Sehwag expressed confidence that the hosts will clinch the title.

When asked to pick the finalists, Sehwag said it would be either India versus West Indies or India against South Africa. India open their campaign against New Zealand on March 15 in Nagpur.

Sehwag was part of the Indian team that won the inaugural World T20 in South Africa in 2007. The Delhi batsman retired from international cricket last year.

No team has won the World T20 more than once. India have a chance to create history at home. Pakistan (2009), England (2010), West Indies (2012) and Sri Lanka (2014) have all won once each.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...