World Cup: Who were the Men-of-the-finals?

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

There are been several top performances in World Cup history but the ones in the finals tend to stand out. From 1975 to 2011, we have been witness to 10 title clashes and an elite club of 10 cricketers are always remembered for delivering in high-pressure games.

World Cup Special; Your complete guide

From captains Clive Lloyd (1975) to MS Dhoni (2011), they have been the recipients of Man-of-the-match awards in World Cup finals.

So far we have had 10 cricketers receiving the honour along with the big prize - the World Cup trophy.

All 10 have been part of the winning sides in the finals.

Here is the full list of Man-of-the-match award winners in World Cup finals (1975 to 2011)

1975 - Clive Lloyd (West Indies) 102 Vs Australia

1979 - Vivian Richards (West Indies) 138* Vs England

1983 - Mohinder Amarnath (India) 26 and 3/12 Vs West Indies

1987 - David Boon (Australia) 75 Vs England

1992 - Wasim Akram (Pakistan) 33 and 3/49 Vs England

1996 - Aravinda de Silva (Sri Lanka) 3/42 and 107* Vs Australia

1999 - Shane Warne (Australia) 4/33 Vs Pakistan

2003 - Ricky Ponting (Australia) 140* Vs India

2007 - Adam Gilchrist (Australia) 149 and 3 catches as wicketkeeper Vs Sri Lanka

2011 - MS Dhoni (India) 91* and 1 catch as wicketkeeper Vs Sri Lanka

2015 - ?

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...