World Cup: No Indian seamer 'stands out' for me, says Courtney Walsh

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Dubai, Feb 5: Former West Indies' fast bowling great Courtney Walsh today said there is no Indian paceman who has impressed him going into ICC World Cup 2015.

World Cup Special; Tournament Guide

Walsh, who played in three World Cups - 1987, 1996 and 1999, picked 11 fast bowlers who could shine at this edition in Australia and New Zealand but none of the Indians made the cut as they don't "stand out" for him.

World Cup: No Indian seamer 'stands out', says Courtney Walsh

"As the ICC Cricket World Cup gets closer and the players get more eager for one of cricket's biggest events, I will try to settle some nerves by selecting a few fast, or seam, bowlers to watch or look out for and tell you why, Walsh wrote for International Cricket Council's (ICC) website on Thursday. (10 major changes at WC)

"You will notice that I have no Pakistan or India players on this list, the reason being that I have not seen much of Pakistan of late, which is unfortunate, and no India seamer stands out, in my view. But I can be proven wrong when it comes to the World Cup. I will not be listing them in preference or ranking. I know how unpredictable this game can be, but these are just my personal picks and thoughts," he added.

In recent times, Indian bowlers have struggled. The MS Dhoni-led side depends heavily on batsmen to deliver victories. Heading into the World Cup, bowling still remains a big concern for India.

India have picked 5 fast bowlers - Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Stuart Binny in their 15-man squad.

World Cup runs from February 14 to March 29. India's opening match is against Pakistan on February 15 in Adelaide.

Here are Walsh's 11 bowlers who could shine at World Cup 2015

1. Mitchell Johnson (Australia)

2. Dale Steyn (South Africa)

3. Kemar Roach (West Indies)

4. Pat Cummins (Australia)

5. Jerome Taylor (West Indies)

6. James Anderson (England)

7. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

8. Morne Morkel (South Africa)

9. Steve Finn (England)

10. Vernon Philander (South Africa)

11. Jason Holder (West Indies)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...