At the Manuka Oval on Tuesday, Gayle hogged the limelight with World Cup's first ever double century. He blitzed a record 215 and when Zimbabwe's batting was under way, DRS controversy erupted with third umpire Ranmore Martinesz of Sri Lanka wrongly ruling Brendan Taylor out.
There have already been two incidents before today at World Cup 2015 involving DRS. First it was in the opening game between Australia and England where umpires failed to remember the rules during DRS decision and James Anderson was given run out. This left James Taylor stranded on 98.
Later, in India-Pakistan match the following day (February 15), Umar Akmal did not to get the benefit of doubt on DRS when caught behind the stumps.
Now, DRS is back in focus. Brendan Taylor was given out by the third umpire after West Indies' captain Jason Holder reviewed a not out decision by on-field umpire Ian Gould (England).
On the first ball of 21st over from offspinner Marlon Samuels, Taylor went for a sweep shot and the ball brushed his forearm and was taken behind the stumps by wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin.
As the West Indian players appealed, Gould ruled it not out. However, Holder opted for DRS. Even though replays were inconclusive on whether the ball brushed the gloves (it did not hit the bat), third umpire ruled him out, which was conveyed to Gould.
Gould changed his verdict and Taylor was sent back for 37 off 48 balls (2x4, 1x6). But the DRS debate continued after that. See the video of the dismissal here.