WC 2015 team profile: New Zealand have lost in 6 WC semifinals, will they be 7th time lucky?

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Zealand will look to repeat the performance of 1992 when it won seven matches on the trot on home turf to reach the semifinals as the top-ranking team but lost to Pakistan, the eventual champions.

[See WC 2015 team profiles]

[WC 1992 video: Commentator called him 'Sukin' Tendulkar at Dunedin against New Zealand]

The Kiwis were led by Martin Crowe in the 1992 edition and the skipper had surprised the cricketing world with his innovations like asking spinner Deepak Patel to open the bowling or allowing opener Mark Greatbatch to take the battle to the opposition camp while fielding restrictions are on.


New Zealand have reached the semifinals of the cricket World Cup six times and have lost each one of them.

In the 2015 World Cup, New Zealand are clubbed with England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Scotland in Pool A.

Here is New Zealand's schedule at WC 2015: Vs Sri Lanka (Feb 14), Vs Scotland (Feb 17), Vs England (Feb 20), Vs Australia (Feb 28), Vs Afghanistan (Mar 8), Vs Bangladesh (Mar 13) [See full itinerary of WC 2015]

WC 2015 squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Dan Vettori, Kane Williamson.

New Zealand's best performance: Semifinalists in 1975, 1979, 1992, 1999, 2007 and 2011.

NZ's success percentage in WC: 57.97% (played 70, won 40, lost 29, no results 1)

Most matches as captain: Stephen Fleming 27 (Won 16, Lost 10, No results 1)

Highest team score: 363/5 vs Canada in 2007

Lowest team score: 112 vs Australia in 2003

Most number of matches in WC for NZ: Stephen Fleming (33)

NZ's highest scorer in WC: Stephen Fleming (1075 runs in 33 matches at an average of 35.83, best 134 not out)

Most number of wickets for NZ in WC: Jacob Oram (36 wickets in 23 matches, best 4 for 39)

Highest individual score by a New Zealander in WC: Glenn Turner (171 not out vs East Africa in 1975)

Best bowling figures by a New Zealander in WC: Shane Bond (6 for 23 vs Australia in 2003)

Biggest win for NZ in WC: Vs Kenya and Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in 2011, Vs East Africa by 181 runs in 1975

Narrowest win for NZ in WC: Vs England by 2 wickets in 1983, vs Zimbabwe by 3 runs in 1987

Biggest loss for NZ in WC: Vs India by 9 wickets in 1987, vs Pakistan by 9 wickets in 1999, vs Australia by 215 runs in 2007

Narrowest loss for NZ in WC: Vs Australia by 3 runs in 1987, vs Sri Lanka by 3 wickets in 1983

Looking back at New Zealand's WC performance in each World Cup since 1975:

1975: New Zealand had a terrific start to their World Cup campaign when their skipper Glenn Turner hit an unbeaten 171 against East Africa in the very first match, gifting a 181-run victory to his team. The Kiwis made the last four as the second-placed team in the group after hosts England but lost to the West Indies by 5 wickets in the semifinals but not without a fight.

New Zealand had a fabulous run in the 1992 WC before they lost to Pakistan twice

1979: New Zealand had an identical outing in the second edition of the World Cup when they made the semi-finals as the second team in the group after defenders West Indies. Lead by MG Burgess, the Kiwis' only loss came against the Caribbeans and they went down fighting against England by just nine runs.

1983: GP Howarth became the third skipper to lead the Kiwis in as many World Cup editions but the team could not progress to the second round this time, thanks to a -0.087 difference with Pakistan in the net run-rate after both teams finished with 12 points in the group stage.

1987: Led by Jeff Crowe, the Kiwis had an ordinary outing in this edition held in the sub-continent as they could not cross the group hurdle and finished third after India and Australia with just two wins over minnows Zimbabwe. The Kiwis had in fact lost some close games against both India and Australia in the group stage, making it difficult for themselves.

1992: The best World Cup in New Zealand's cricket history. Captained by Martin Crowe who was known for his innovation in this edition (like opening bowling with a spinner), New Zealand won 7 matches on the trot in the round-robin league to advance to the semi-finals as the top-ranked team.

But two consecutive defeats against Pakistan dashed the co-hosts' dream of making it to the final. The 37-ball-60 by Inzamam-ul-Haq in the semi-final ended the Kiwis' dream run.

1996: Led by newcomer Lee Germon, the Kiwis had a good start to their World Cup campaign by defeating England by 11 runs. But they lost to South Africa and Pakistan and made the quarter-finals as the third team from the group. In the quarter-finals, the Kiwis scored 286 against arch-rivals Australia but yet lost the match by 6 wickets.

The 130 scored by all-rounder Chris Harris in that match in Chennai is still counted as one of the best in the history of the cricket World Cup.

1999: Stephen Fleming became the seventh captain to have led New Zealand in the World Cup in this edition which was played in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and the Netherlands. Their best moment in the group stages came in the match against Australia which they won by 5 wickets.

New Zealand went to the Super Six stage as the third team and beat India and shared points with Zimbabwe in a rain-hit game to go to the semifinals after seven years. But the Kiwis were no match for the Pakistanis in the semifinals as they lost by nine wickets despite scoring 241.

2003: Fleming became the first New Zealander to have led his country in two consecutive World Cups when his team took the field against Sri Lanka in Bloemfontein in South Africa. It was a losing experience for the Kiwis though despite Scott Styris's fighting 141 in a team total of 225.

They, however, beat the West Indies, hosts South Africa (captain Fleming scored a magnificent 134 not out), Bangladesh and Canada but gave a walkover to Kenya on grounds of safety. In the Super Six stage, New Zealand could win only against Zimbabwe and finished fifth in the table.

2007: Stephen Fleming led the side to the semi-final in this third World Cup as the captain. The Kiwis finished as the group champions beating England, Kenya and Canada. They won four matches in the Super Eight stage and lost to Australia and Sri Lanka.

New Zealand choked in the semi-finals for the fifth time when they lost to Sri Lanka by 79 runs.

2011: The 110-run victory over Pakistan was New Zealand's best performance in this edition. The side, captained by Daniel Vettori, won four matches and lost two to advance to the quarter-finals as the fourth team from the group.

The Kiwis bettered their World Cup record in the sub-continent when they beat South Africa by 49 runs in Dhaka but faltered yet again in the last four when they lost to Sri Lanka by 5 wickets.

Please Wait while comments are loading...