NZ vs SA: Whoever win, WC will get a new finalist

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, March 23: The first semifinal of the 2015 ICC World Cup will take place between New Zealand and South Africa at the Eden Park in Auckland on Tuesday. None of these two teams have reached the semifinal of a World Cup before which means whoever wins it tomorrow will make their maiden World Cup appearance at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on March 29.

World Cup Special; Preview: NZ vs SA; Semifinal Schedule; We will play India in final, says Dave Callaghan

The best results of both New Zealand and South Africa at the World Cup is reaching the semifinals. While New Zealand have made the last four six times before this World Cup (1975, 1979, 1992, 1999, 2007 & 2011) but lost each one of them. The South Africans, too, have made the semifinals thrice before this edition (1992, 1999 & 2007) but have never won it once.


It will be historic opportunity for both the Kiwis and the Proteas to break the jinx and that makes the contest look all the more fierce.

West Indies, Australia, England, India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka played in WC finals

The other semifinal will be between India and Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground on March 26. These two teams, however, have won the World Cup more than once. While Australia have claimed the title four times (1987, 1999, 2003 & 2007), defending champions India have won it twice (1983 & 2011).

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...