WC 2015: Misbah becomes 6th captain to lead Pak against India

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Adelaide, Feb 15: Misbah-ul-Haq became the sixth captain to lead Pakistan against India in a World Cup match at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday. Can he reverse his team's fortunes against India at the prestigious event?

SA-ZIM Live Scores; IND-PAK Live Scores; World Cup Special

Pakistan have played against the arch-rivals under five captains in their five previous World Cup matches but none of them could gift them a win.


In 1992, Imran Khan was the captain of the Pakistani side that had lost to India by 43 runs at the Sydney Cricket Ground. In 1996, Aamir Sohail was the stand-in captain against India in the quarter-final after at Bangalore an injured Wasim Akram became unavailable but Pakistan lost by 39 runs.

In 1999, Wasim Akram led Pakistan against India at Old Trafford but the team could not beat the arch-rivals. Venkatesh Prasad's five-wicket haul saw the men in green losing yet another World Cup match to India by 47 runs.

In 2003, Waqar Younis although won the toss but his team could not get the actual win. This time Pakistan batted first and put up a competitive total of 271 but Sachin Tendulkar's stunning 98 made sure that India's clean record remained intact.

In 2011, Shahid Afridi led Pakistan against India in the semi-final at Mohali but the outcome was no different. Tendulkar played a flawed innings of 85 and it proved too much for the visitors as they lost by 29 runs.

For India, three men have captained the side against Pakistan. While Mohammad Azharuddin led the side in 1992, 1996 and 1999, Sourav Ganguly and Mahendra Singh Dhoni were the captains in 2003 and 2011, respectively.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...