WC 2015: Michael Clarke 19th captain to play in WC final

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Melbourne, March 29: Australia captain Michael Clarke became the 19th captain in history to lead his team in the final of the cricket World Cup. The 33-year-old batsman announced his retirement from one-day internationals on the eve of the final. New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum is also playing his first-ever World Cup final.

World Cup Special; WC 2015 final: Aus vs NZ; Clarke announces retirement from ODIs

Here is a list of the other 17 captains who have played in the final of the cricket World Cup:

  • Clive Lloyd of the West Indies (1975, 1979 & 1983) [Won in 1975 & 1979 but lost in 1983]
  • Ricky Ponting of Australia (2003 & 2007) [Won]
  • Kapil Dev of India (1983) [Won]
  • Allan Border of Australia (1987) [Won]
  • Imran Khan of Pakistan (1992) [Won]
  • Arjuna Ranatunga of Sri Lanka (1996) [Won]
  • Steve Waugh of Australia (1999) [Won]
  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India (2011) [Won]
  • Ian Chappell of Australia (1975) [Lost]
  • Mike Brearley of England (1979) [Lost]
  • Mike Gatting of England (1987) [Lost]
  • Graham Gooch of England (1992) [Lost]
  • Mark Taylor of Australia (1996) [Lost]
  • Wasim Akram of Pakistan (1999) [Lost]
  • Sourav Ganguly of India (2003) [Lost]
  • Mahela Jayawardena of Sri Lanka (2007) [Lost]
  • Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka (2011) [Lost]

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...