World Cup 2015: Full list of awards, prize money and statistics

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Melbourne, March 29: Australia won the ICC World Cup 2015 today by defeating New Zealand by 7 wickets at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Final Scorecard; Final updates; Match reportWorld Cup Special

There were few awards given away at the end of the tournament. Sachin Tendulkar handed over the Man-of-the-final and Man-of-the-tournament honours. (Australia's 15 who won WC)

Starc receives Player-of-the-tournament award from Tendulkar

ICC chairman N Srinivasan, who was booed by the crowd, gave away the World Cup trophy to captain Michael Clarke. (Photos from the final)

Full list of awards and major statistics from ICC World Cup 2015

Champions - Australia - Prize money - USD $3,975,000

Runner-up - New Zealand - Prize money - USD $1,750,000

Player of the tournament - Mitchell Starc (22 wickets in 8 matches, Average 10.18, Best 6/28)

Man of the final - James Faulkner (3/36 in 9 overs)

Highest wickets - Starc and Trent Boult (22 each)

Highest run scorer - Martin Guptill (547 runs)

Total centuries - 38

Total double tons - 2

400 plus scores three times

Highest individual score - 237 not out from Guptill

Highest team total - Australia 417/6

Most sixes - 26 - Chris Gayle

Most fours - 59 - Guptill

Guptill hit 237 not out against West Indies

Best bowling - 7/33 - Tim Southee

Best average - 108.20 - Kumar Sangakkara

Most centuries by a batsman - 4 (in a row) - Sangakkara

Most fifties - 4 - Steve Smith

Most maidens - 14 - Trent Boult

Best bowling average - 10.18 - Starc

World Cup champions

1975: West Indies; 1979: West Indies; 1983: India; 1987: Australia; 1992: Pakistan; 1996: Sri Lanka; 1999: Australia; 2003: Australia; 2007: Australia; 2011: India; 2015: Australia

James Faulkner - Man of the final

Prize money breakdown

Winner USD$3,750,000

Runner-up USD$1,750,000

Losing semi-finalists (two) USD$600,000

Losing quarter-finalists (four) USD$300,000

Winner of each Group match USD$45,000 x 42

Teams eliminated after group stage USD$35,000 x 6 teams

Total USD$10,000,000

Note: A total of USD $10 million will be available, which is an increase of 25 per cent over the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. Should a team at the World Cup 2015 win the tournament without losing a match, it will receive total prize money of USD $4,020,000, while a team that loses one match on the way to winning the tournament will receive USD $3,975,000.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...