WC 2015: Dhoni leads India to 2 consecutive semifinals, equals Kapil Dev

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Melbourne, March 20: Mahendra Singh Dhoni became the second Indian captain to lead his side to the second consecutive semi-final at the cricket World Cup after India beat Bangladesh by 109 runs at the Melbourne Cricket Ground here on Thursday.

World Cup Special; Semi-final schedule

Dhoni had led India to the semifinals in the 2011 edition when they beat Australia in the quarter-finals at Ahmedabad by 5 wickets. Dhoni's team had gone on to win the title in that edition.

Before Dhoni, it was Kapil Dev, India's other World Cup-winning captain, who had led the team to two consecutive semifinals in the quadrennial tournament. In 1983, Kapil's Devils qualified as the second team after the West Indies from the group for the semi-finals. India beat England and the West Indies in the final two matches to lift their first World Cup trophy.

It was under Kapil Dev's leadership that India had qualified for the semi-finals in the 1987 World Cup as well. However, they had lost the semi-final against England by 35 runs.

The other teams that have made consecutive semifinals at the World Cup are:

  • England (1975, 1979, 1983, 1987, 1992)
  • Australia (1996, 1999, 2003, 2007)
  • Pakistan (1979, 1983, 1987, 1992)
  • Sri Lanka (2003, 2007, 2011)
  • West Indies (1975, 1979, 1983)
  • New Zealand (1975, 1979 & 2007, 2011)

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...