WC 2015: Aus have never lost a semifinal, NZ have never won one

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sydney/Auckland: It is a tale of contradiction for the two co-hosts of the ICC World Cup 2015. Both Australia and New Zealand, the two hosts of the ongoing World Cup made their seventh World Cup semi-finals by winning against Pakistan and the West Indies, respectively, but the record books have more mentions about the Australians because they have been the more successful from the semi-final stage onwards of the World Cup.

World Cup Special
; Semi-final schedule

In fact, records say that Australia and New Zealand have completely contradictory records in the World Cup semifinals. Both teams have played the World Cup semifinals six times but while Australia have never lost a World Cup semifinal and went on to win the title four times, New Zealand have never a World Cup semifinal.


Here is the list of semifinal results of the two teams played since 1975:


  • Beat England by 4 wickets at Leeds in 1975 [England 93, Aus 94/6]
  • Beat Pakistan by 18 runs at Lahore in 1987 [Aus 267/6, Pak 249]
  • Beat West Indies by 5 runs at Mohali in 1996 [Aus 207/8, WI 202]
  • Beat South Africa at Edgbaston in 1999 because they finished in a better position than SA in the Super Six stage after the match ended in a tie [Aus 213, SA 213]
  • Beat Sri Lanka by 48 runs (D/L method) at Port Elizabeth in 2003 [Aus 212/7, SL 123/7]
  • Beat South Africa by 7 wickets at Gros Islet in 2007 [SA 149, Aus 153/2]


  • Lost to West Indies by 5 wickets at Kennington Oval in 1975 [NZ 158, WI 159/5]
  • Lost to England by 9 runs at Old Trafford in 1979 [England 221/8, NZ 212/9]
  • Lost to Pakistan by 4 wickets at Auckland in 1992 [NZ 262/7, Pak 264/6]
  • Lost to Pakistan by 9 wickets at Old Trafford in 1999 [NZ 241/7, Pak 242/1]
  • Lost to Sri Lanka by 81 runs at Kingston in 2007 [SL 289/5, NZ 208]
  • Lost to Sri Lanka by 5 wickets at Colombo in 2011 [NZ 217, SL 220/5]

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...