WC 2015: Australia become 6th host nation to qualify for WC semis

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Adelaide, March 20: Australia became the sixth host country to enter the semifinals of a cricket World Cup when they beat Pakistan by 6 wickets in the quarter final at the Adelaide Oval on Friday.

World Cup Special; Australia beat Pakistan in QF; Australia have 7-3 advantage over India in WC


Here is a list of five host nations that have made the World Cup semifinal since the inaugural edition of 1975:

  • England (1975, 1979, 1983)
  • India (1987, 1996)
  • Pakistan (1987)
  • Sri Lanka (1996)
  • New Zealand (1992, 2015)

Australia had played hosts to the cricket World Cup once earlier (in 1992) but the side led by Allan Boder could not make it to the last four and finished fifth among nine participating nations.

The other host nations who haven't qualified for World Cup semifinals are Scotland (1999), South Africa (2003), Zimbabwe (2003), Kenya (2003), West Indies (2007) and Bangladesh (2011).

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...