West Indies tour: India's 15-man squad announced

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, June 15: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today (June 15) announced a 15-man Indian squad for the limited overs tour to the West Indies.

Ind-WI series schedule

Youngsters Rishabh Pant and Kuldeep Yadav have been included while Jasprit Bumrah and Rohit Sharma, who are currently playing in Champions Trophy in England are omitted. Virat Kohli will continue to lead the side.

Rishabh Pant

India will play 5 One Day Internationals and 1 Twenty20 International against West Indies from June 23.

"The All-India Senior Selection Committee met earlier today to select the India Cricket Team for the upcoming India's tour of the West Indies, 2017," BCCI's acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary said in a media advisory on Thursday.

"The administrative staff of the Indian Cricket Team will continue for the tour of West Indies," he added.

The 19-year-old Pant impressed in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 for Delhi Daredevils. He has played 1 T20I for India.

Yadav, the 22-year-old left-arm chinaman bowler, last season, made his Test debut against Australia. He is yet to play ODIs or T20Is.

BCCI did not mention about the coaching staff. Recently, BCCI's Committee of Administrators' (COA) head Vinod Rai had said Anil Kumble will continue as the coach subject to his availability. Kumble's contract ends with the Champions Trophy, on June 18.

The Indian cricket board has received 6 applications for the coach's job, for which they had advertised. Kumble too has applied. Virender Sehwag, Tom Moody, Lalchand Rajput, Dodda Ganesh and Richard Pybus are the other five in the fray.

India squad

1. Virat Kohli (captain), 2. Shikhar Dhawan, 3. Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), 4. Ajinkya Rahane, 5. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), 6. Yuvraj Singh, 7. Kedar Jadhav, 8. Hardik Pandya, 9. Ravichandran Ashwin, 10. Ravindra Jadeja, 11. Mohammed Shami, 12. Umesh Yadav, 13. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 14. Kuldeep Yadav, 15. Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper).

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...