WC 2015 : Australia squad announced, Michael Clarke to lead

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Melbourne, Jan 12: Australia on Sunday (January 11) has announced the 15-man squad that will be seeking to win the nation's fifth ICC World Cup when the tournament gets under way in Melbourne in February, with Michael Clarke named to captain the side as he continues his recovery from hamstring surgery. (See full itinerary of WC 2015)

Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc spearhead a young pace attack alongside Mitchell Johnson while Brad Haddin keeps his spot behind the stumps. Spinner Xavier Doherty got the nod over a number of spinners including Nathan Lyon and Cameron Boyce, while all-rounder Glenn Maxwell has also been selected. (Indian squad for WC 2015 announced)

WC 2015 : Australia squad announced, Michael Clarke to lead

Australia will play their opening World Cup match on February 14 against England before going on to face Pool A rivals, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Afghanistan and Scotland.

The Austarlian team will also play two warm-up games against India and United Arab Emirates on February 8 and 11 respectively.

Australia's squad for WC 2015

Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey (vice-captain), Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Australia's Itinerary at WC 2015

Vs England (Feb 14), vs Bangladesh (Feb 21), vs New Zealand (Feb 28), vs Afghanistan (Mar 4), vs Sri Lanka (Mar 8), vs Scotland (Mar 14)

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...