Virender Sehwag awarded Honorary Life Membership of MCC

Subscribe to Oneindia News

London, Aug 16: Former opener Virender Sehwag today (August 16) joined his former team-mates Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly and other Indians as an Honorary Life Member of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

"MCC has elected Virender Sehwag as an Honorary Life Member of the Club," MCC said on Tuesday.

File photo: From left - Tendulkar, Ganguly and Sehwag during a ODI

The 37-year-old Sehwag played 104 Tests, 251 One Day Internationals and 19 Twenty20 Internationals during his illustrious career.

John Stephenson, MCC Head of Cricket, said: "It is always a pleasure to welcome new Honorary Life Members to the Club, and Virender is no exception.

"He was a wonderfully entertaining player throughout his career and has also represented MCC with aplomb in the past, so is fully deserving of this honour."

"MCC has awarded Honorary Life Membership to hundreds of the finest cricketers and men and women associated with the game. The list reads like a who's who of the game," the club said on its website.

List of Indians who are Honarary Life Members of MCC, with year of election

Nari Contractor (1969)

Ajit Wadekar (1978)

Chandu Borde (1981)

Farookh Engineer (1981)

Bapu Nadkarni (1981)

Bishan Singh Bedi (1982)

BS Chandrasekhar (1982)

EAS Prasanna (1984)

S Venkataraghavan (1988)

GR Viswanath (1990)

Mohinder Amarnath (1993)

Sunil Gavaskar (1993)

Dilip Vengsarkar (1993)

Kapil Dev (1995)

SMH Kirmani (1995)

Ravi Shastri (1995)

Kiran More (1999)

Rahul Dravid (2008)

Anil Kumble (2008)

Sachin Tendulkar (2010)

Sourav Ganguly (2015)

Miss Anjum Chopra (2016)

Virender Sehwag (2016)

About MCC

Marylebone Cricket Club is the world's most active cricket club, the owner of Lord's Ground and the guardian of the Laws of the game.

Founded in 1787, it has been recognised as the sole authority on the Laws of Cricket since its foundation and it moved to its current home at Lord's in 1814. It remains, in the words of a former President, Plum Warner, "a private club with a public function."

There are 18,000 Full and 5,000 Associate Members of MCC. Those Members own the Ground and all MCC's assets (the most famous of which is the Ashes Urn), they govern the Club through various committees, and some 2,000 of them represent MCC on the field of play each year.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...