Virat Kohli chosen as captain of 'Current World Test XI' by Shane Warne, others

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

London, Aug 6: India's star batsman Virat Kohli was today (August 6) chosen as the captain of "Current World Test XI" by spin legend Shane Warne and 2 other former cricketers.

Only 1 Indian in '1990s World XI'

Kohli, who has been in great form in all 3 formats of the game, was an easy chance for the 3 former players as they discussed about the Best XI in current generation, on "Sky Sports" on Saturday (August 6). (Kohli will break Lara's 400-run record: Kapil)

Warne, Mike Atherton of England and Pakistan Ramiz Raja were the 3 who selected the team with South African fast bowler Morne Morkel as the 12th man. The 3 ex-players also selected a World XI from the 1990s. ('Kohli is the best batsman')

"This morning @skysports asked Athers, Ramiz & myself to pick two world 11's ! 90's & a Current one. This was the consensus after our selection meeting. Thoughts ? Agree / Disagree ? The two unlucky players to miss out in my opinion are Amla & Williamson. This is also a squad, the final 11 would be picked depending on conditions," Warne wrote on his Instagram account with the teams. (Warne reveals his best batsmen)

The 27-year-old Kohli recently hit his maiden Test double century against the West Indies. He and his team-mates are currently on the Caribbean island for 4-Test series. India lead the series 1-0 with 2 matches remaining.

Offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin is the other Indian in the list. England skipper Alastair Cook, who recently completed 10,000 runs in the five-day format, is chosen as opener along with Australian left-hander David Warner.

Who else made the cut? Find out below.

Current World Test XI (As chosen by Warne, Atherton and Raja)

1. David Warner (Australia)

2. Alastair Cook (England)

3. Joe Root (England)

4. Virat Kohli (India, captain)

5. Steve Smith (Australia)

6. AB de Villiers (South Africa, wicketkeeper)

7. Ben Stokes (England)

8. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

9. Mitchell Starc (Australia)

10. Yasir Shah (Pakistan)

11. James Anderson (England)

12. Morne Morkel (South Africa)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...