Chittagong, Feb 3: West Indies Under-19 bowler Keemo Paul 'Mankaded' last Zimbabwe batsman Richard Ngarava in the final over to help his side progress to the quarter-finals of the ongoing World Cup here on Tuesday.
The word 'Mankad' came from an incident that happened during India's tour of Australia on December 13, 1947, in the second Test at Sydney. India's Vinoo Mankad ran out Bill Brown when, in the act of delivering the ball, he held on to it and removed the bails with Brown well out of his crease.
Since this incident, a batsman dismissed in this fashion is (informally) said to have been Mankaded.
On Tuesday, Zimbabwe needed three runs to win with just one wicket remaining when fast bowler Paul began the final over of what was a thrilling match.
As Paul approached the wicket to bowl the first ball of the over, non-striker Ngarava began to slowly walk out of his crease in quest for a quick single.
But instead of starting his delivery stride as he ran past the wicket, Paul quickly removed the bails with the ball in his right hand and appealed for a run out.
The umpires conferred and asked the West Indies if they wanted to withdraw the appeal, which they declined to do, so the officials referred the decision to the third umpire.
The TV official reviewed the footage and correctly ruled that Ngarava was just out of his ground when the bails were removed.
The decision handed the West Indies a two-run win and a spot in the quarter-finals, while it also ended Zimbabwe's tournament.
Zimbabwe captain Brandon Mavuta was very upset after the match but refused to comment on the incident.
"We got so close, no comment about it. I don't have anything to say right now. No comment," Mavuta said.
West Indies captain Shimron Hetmyer said he was comfortable with his decision to not withdraw the appeal.
"I would say yes, cricket is a game of uncertainties. We've seen it happen in cricket before. It's not a big deal for us," Hetmyer said.
Australia coach Darren Lehmann, New Zealand legend Stephen Fleming and other former and current players came out with immediate and heavy criticism as they tweeted about the incident.
"Unbelievable. Not Out," Lehmann tweeted on Tuesday.
"This is not a good look. Absolutely disgraceful behaviour," Fleming tweeted.
Former Australia cricketer Tom Moody said, "Saddened to see that winning comes down to this!"
England batsman Eoin Morgan said, "Disgraceful behaviour in the U19CWC. WI's should be embarrassed!!"
"Can't believe what I've just seen! Embarrassing!" England batsman Jos Buttler said.