'Best Test Tons in Australia since 2000': Tendulkar, Laxman, Sehwag in final-15 list

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Melbourne, Sep 25: Indian trio of Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman and Virender Sehwag feature in the final-15 list of the "Best Test Tons in Australia since 2000", which was unveiled today.

Sehwag's 195 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) against Australia in 2003 was placed at 13th while now Tendulkar's best score in Australia - 241 not out in 2004 at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) features at 8th followed by Laxman's 167 at 9th position.

A file photo of Tendulkar playing against Australia

The final list of 15 of the best Test centuries in Australia since 2000 was unveiled on Cricket Australia's (CA) website.

According to it, Michael Clarke's 329 not out against India at SCG in January 2012 is the number one followed by South African Faf du Plessis' 110 not out at Adelaide Oval in November 2012.

Another double century against India, by Ricky Ponting (257) at Melbourne Cricket Ground in December 2003) has made its way to the list. It is rated as the 3rd best.

Tendulkar, who had a tough series in 2003-04 against the home team, bounced back in style in the 4th and final Test at SCG scoring a majestic 241 not out. This was the farewell series for captain Steve Waugh.

The Master Blaster decided not to play any shots on the off-side and it paid off. In one of his best knocks of 200-Test illustrious career, Tendulkar scored 241 not out as India amassed 705/7 declared in the 1st innings. The match later ended in a draw and the series honours were shared at 1-1.

"I would put this innings (241 not out) right at the top of my hundreds," Tendulkar said, as quoted by CA's website.

VVS Laxman

"I had a plan and I am happy I could execute it well. I am happy that I was able to maintain the discipline throughout the innings. Things had gone wrong a couple of times with my shot selection, and I knew I had to cut out a few strokes," he had added.

In 2000, when India toured Australia under Tendulkar's captaincy, they had a torrid time in the Test series. After losing both the matches, Laxman gave Indians something to cheer in the final Test with a superb 167.

At SCG, India were trailing by 402 runs and Laxman opened the batting. Though India lost the match by an innings and 141 runs, the Test was remembered for 25-year-old Laxman's top-class 167 against the bowling attack of Glenn McGrath, Shane Warne, Brett Lee and Damien Fleming. India were whitewashed 3-0.

Rahul Dravid, who has played some memorable innings in Australia, has missed out. His best in Australia was 233 against the hosts in Adelaide in 2003 which resulted in India's historic 4-wicket victory.

Here is the final list of 15 "Best Test Tons in Australia since 2000" (As per CA's website)

1. Michael Clarke (Australia) 329 not out Vs India (Sydney, January 2012) - Australia won by an innings and 68 runs

2. Faf du Plessis (South Africa) 110 not out Vs Australia (Adelaide, November 2012) - Match drawn

3. Ricky Ponting (Australia) 257 Vs India (Melbourne, December 2003) - Australia won by 9 wickets

4. Brian Lara (West Indies) 226 Vs Australia (Adelaide, November 2005) - West Indies lost by 7 wickets

5. Clarke 128 Vs India (Adelaide, December 2014) - Australia won by 48 runs

Michael Clarke

6. Steve Waugh (Australia) 102 Vs England (Sydney, January 2003) - Australia lost by 225 runs

7. JP Duminy (South Africa) 166 Vs Australia (Melbourne, December 2008) - South Africa won by 9 wickets

8. Sachin Tendulkar (India) 241 not out Vs Australia (Sydney, January 2004) - Match drawn

9. VVS Laxman (India) 167 Vs Australia (Sydney, January 2000) - India lost by an innings and 141 runs

10. AB de Villiers (South Africa) 106 not out Vs Australia (WACA Ground, December 2008) - South Africa won by 6 wickets

11. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) 192 Vs Australia (Bellerive Oval, Hobart, November 2007) - Sri Lanka lost by 96 runs

12. Hashim Amla (South Africa) 196 Vs Australia (WACA Ground, December 2012) - South Africa won by 309 runs

13. Virender Sehwag (India) 195 Vs Australia (MCG, Melbourne, 2003) - India lost by 9 wickets

14. Simon Katich (Australia) 131 not out Vs New Zealand (Gabba, Brisbane, November 2008) - Australia won by 149 runs

15. David Warner (Australia) 123 not out Vs New Zealand (Bellerive Oval, Hobart, December 2011) - Australia lost by 7 runs

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...