Team India to leave for Asia Cup on February 21

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Feb 19: Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led India will leave for Bangladesh on Sunday (February 21) to participate in the Asia Cup Twenty20 tournament.

Asia Cup fixtures and squads

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today (February 19) announced that the Indian team will leave for Asia Cup from Kolkata.

A file picture of Indian players after winning T20I series against Sri Lanka in Visakhapatnam recently

"Indian Cricket Team will depart to participate in Asia Cup - 2016, Dhaka on Sunday, 21st February 2016," BCCI said on Friday in media advisory.

For the first time in the history of Asia Cup, the format of the tournament has been changed from 50 overs to 20. India play their opening game against hosts Bangladesh on February 24 (Wednesday). The big clash, against arch rivals Pakistan will be on February 27 (Saturday).

Asia Cup will be played at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur (Bangladesh) from February 24 to March 6. The qualifying tournament begins today (February 19). Sri Lanka are the defending champions. Asia Cup will be followed by ICC World Twenty20 2016 in India.

India squad for Asia Cup: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...