Team India gets 'Fine Committee'; Bhuvneshwar Kumar is chairman

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Basseterre (St. Kitts), July 16: In a new initiative under head coach Anil Kumble, Team India has constituted a "Fine Committee" with paceman Bhuvneshwar Kumar as its chairman.

Pay $50 fine under Kumble's reign; Ind-WI series schedule

Kumble, who was appointed as India's head coach last month, has introduced fines for players who are not punctual. And now the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has made it official with a new panel.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the chairman of

On Saturday (July 16), on its Twitter page, BCCI said there was a "Fine Committee" in place. And its head Bhuvneshwar gave details as to how it works. Cheteshwar Pujara and Shikhar Dhawan are the other 2 members of this unique group. ('Beer trouble' for Indian players)

The fines collected by the team will go for charity, Bhuvneshwar said in a video posted on BCCI's Twitter page.

"There is a new fine committee. It relates to punctuality and other rules which have been framed (for the players). If players don't arrive on time and if there is any other related issues (indiscipline), they have to pay fines. In the fine committee, I am there. I am the chairman. (Cheteshwar) Pujara will collect the fines and there is Shikhar (Dhawan) who will handle the appeals if somebody is fined by mistake," Bhuvneshwar said.

He said so far no cricketer has been punished. According to Kumble, a player will be penalised $50 if he arrives late to board the team bus.

"We had a trial for 1 week. So far nobody has been fined. However, the rules are in place from yesterday (July 15). So far nobody has been fined. It is difficult to say who will pay more fine. It all depends on punctuality," the 26-year-old Bhuvneshwar explained.

"Whatever fines we collect will go for charity. But we have not yet decided as to where this money will exactly go. But it is for charity," he added.

India are in the Caribbean islands to play four Tests against the West Indies. The first match starts in Antigua on July 21.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...