World T20 2016: A brief look at previous editions

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Nagpur, March 7: The seventh edition of T20 World Cup will take off on Tuesday (March 8) when Zimbabwe will take on Hong Kong in the first round of the tournament.

World T20 schedule and squads

A google doodle for T20 World Cup 2016

India enter World T20 2016 as No. 1 side

Six minnows besides two Test-playing sides, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, will play this round before joining eight full-time members in the second round.

ms dhoni

The second round begins on March 15 when India will take on New Zealand in a Group 2 match in Nagpur.

India had won the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup played in South Africa in 2007, defeating arch-rivals Pakistan by five runs in the final.

Past editions of T20 World Cup

Here is a brief look at the previous editions of the tournament:

  • 2007: India beat Pakistan by 5 runs in the final [India 157/5 vs Pak 152]
    Hosts: South Africa
  • 2009: Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets [SL 138/6 vs Pak 139/2]
    Hosts: England
  • 2010: England beat Australia by 7 wickets [Aus 147/6 vs Eng 148/3]
    Hosts: West Indies
  • 2012: West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs [WI 137/6 vs SL 101]
    Hosts: Sri Lanka
  • 2014: Sri Lanka beat India by 6 wickets [India 130/4 vs SL 134/4]
    Hosts: Bangladesh

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...