Sri Lanka crash out; defenders' poor show in WC T20 continues

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, March 26: Defending champions Sri Lanka crashed out of the T20 World Cup after losing a key match against England at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground here by 10 runs. Chasing 172 to win, the Asians could manage 161 for the loss of 8 wickets.

World T20 Special Site; Photos; Points Table; Schedule

Sri lanka's loss also knocked South Africa, who lost to the West Indies at Nagpur on Friday night, out of the contention.

Defending champions in T20 World Cup have a tradition of failing to repeat the performance for two consecutive editions.

angelo mathews

Only Sri Lanka have made the maximum appearances in the T20 World Cup (three) though they have failed to win the title just once (in 2014). At the same time, they also became the first team to have failed to cross the group stage while defending their title.

Here is a brief look at the defending champions' performance in the T20 World Cup:

  • 2009: Defending champions India crashed out in the Super Eight stage by failing to win any of the three matches [Champions: Pakistan]
  • 2010: Defending champions Pakistan lost to Australia in the semi-final despite putting up a challenging score [Champions: England]

    2012: Defending champions England failed to qualify for the semi-final after failing two out of three matches in the Super Eight stage [Champions: West Indies]

  • 2014: Defending champions West Indies lost to Sri Lanka in the semi-final [Champions: Sri Lanka]

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...