Sachin Tendulkar voted as the best Test player of 21st century

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Melbourne, June 23: Former India captain and batting legend Sachin Tendulkar was voted as the best Test player of the 21st century in an online poll conducted by Cricket Australia's (CA) website.

In a poll, which was run on CA's website, Tendulkar received the highest number of votes to emerge as number 1. Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara was second followed by Adam Gilchrist of Australia. Before this poll, they had released the top-100 Test players since 2000.

Tendulkar polled 23% of votes where more than 16,000 fans participated. 14% of the online readers voted for Sangakkara. (Tendulkar's farewell speech)

"After 10 days of counting down and no end of deliberations, released its final countdown of the 100 best Test players since 2000 a couple of days ago. Readers debated the top 10, just as you did players 11 through 100, but we also provided an opportunity for you to decide your No.1 Test player of the century," a report on CA's website said on Tuesday.

"Tendulkar, the Little Master who remains an iconic figure in the sport, was a runaway winner, jumping four places from where had him placed, while batting giants Ricky Ponting and Jacques Kallis were separated on countback, with the Australian just edging out his Proteas counterpart," it added.

In the top-10, Tendulkar was the lone Indian while there were 4 Australians, 3 South Africans and 2 Sri Lankans. (Sachin special)

Tendulkar, who retired from international cricket in 2013 after playing his 200th Test on his home ground in Mumbai, has been regarded as the greatest batsman in history.

He holds several records and is still the highest run scorer in both Tests and One Day Internationals. The 42-year-old Tendulkar is the only batsman to have scored 100 international centuries. He is currently the "Icon" of Indian Premier Leauge (IPL) franchise Mumbai Indians (MI). (42 records of Sachin)

The results (more than 16,000 fans voted)

1. Sachin Tendulkar (India) 23%

2. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) 14%

3. Adam Gilchrist (Australia) 13%

4. Ricky Ponting (Australia) 11%

5. Jacques Kallis (South Africa) 11%

6. AB de Villiers (South Africa) 10%

7. Shane Warne (Australia) 9%

8. Glenn McGrath (Australia) 5%

9. Muthaiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) 3%

10. Dale Steyn (South Africa) 1%

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...