Dubai, Jan 25: India's opening batsman Rohit Sharma has received an official reprimand for showing dissent at umpire's decision during the 5th and final One Day International against Australia on Saturday (January 23).
Rohit, who was adjudged caught behind for 99 (caught by wicketkeeper Matthew Wade off John Hastings) in the 5th ODI at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), was stunned by the umpire's decision had waited for a while before heading back to the pavilion.
At first, it appeared that Rohit had not edged the ball. However, replays and also snickometre confirmed the batsman had nicked the ball.
"India opener Rohit Sharma has received an official reprimand for breaching Level 1 of the ICC Code of Conduct during the fifth and final One-Day International against Australia in Sydney on Saturday," the International Cricket Council (ICC) said in a media release today (January 25).
Rohit was found to have breached Article 2.1.5 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to "showing dissent at an umpire's decision during an international match", it added.
After the match, Rohit admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by Jeff Crowe of the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees. As such, there was no need for a formal hearing.
The charge was levelled by on-field umpires Richard Kettleborough and Paul Wilson, third umpire John Ward and fourth official Gerard Abood.
For all first offences, Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of 50 per cent of a player's match fee.
India and Australia will play 3 Twenty20 Internationals starting from tomorrow (January 26) in Adelaide. The hosts had won the 5-match ODI series 4-1.