Ranji Trophy: Holders Karnataka make it 3 wins in a row

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 24: Robin Uthappa scored 97 and Abhimanyu Mithun took 5 wickets (8 in the match) to help defending champions Karnataka defeat Railways by 136 runs in their Group A match of the Ranji Trophy here today.

Mithun returned with 5/31 while captain R Vinay Kumar took 2/37 to bowl Railways out for 114 in 43 overs on the fourth and final day. This was third straight outright win for Karnataka. They had earlier beaten Tamil Nadu and Bengal.

Robin Uthappa scored 97

Karnataka remained on top of Group A with 18 points from 3 matches. This was Railways' first loss after 2 draws this season. They have 6 points.

Railways were chasing 251 to win. Anustup Majumdar was the topscorer for Railways with 26 not out. 8 of their batsmen failed to get into double-digit scores.

In the first innings, right-arm paceman Mithun had taken 3 wickets while left-arm fast bowler S Aravind had figures of 4/43.

Earlier, resuming at overnight score of 131/1, Karnataka scored 174/5 in 42 overs and declared, setting a target of 251 for the hosts. Opener Uthappa missed out on a century, as he was out for 97 (125 balls, 12x4, 2x6). Karun Nair made 63 (104 balls, 9x4, 1x6).

Railways face Tamil Nadu in their next match, from December 28 while Karnataka meet Jammu and Kashmir from January 5.

Brief Scores

Karnataka 247 and 174/5 declared in 42 overs (Robin Uthappa 97, Karun Nair 63, Anureet Singh 3/67, Krishnakant Upadhyay 2/61) beat Railways 171 and 114 all out in 43 overs (Anustup Majumdar 26 not out, Abhimanyu Mithun 5/31, R Vinay Kumar 2/37)

Points - Karnataka 6; Railways 0

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...