Preview: IPL 2015 Match 17: Delhi Daredevils Vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Written by: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, April 20: After sealing two morale-boosting back-to-back wins, hosts Delhi Daredevils (DD) will look to tame defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in an Indian Premier League (IPL) contest here tonight.

IPL Special; Guide to DD-KKR game; Points Table

Daredevils have won two of their last four matches. KKR beat Kings XI Punjab by four wickets on Saturday courtesy of an aggressive knock from Jamaican all-rounder Andre Russell, who hammered his way to a 36-ball 66. (Photo gallery)

The captains - Duminy and Gambhir

Daredevils pulled off a thrilling win against Sunrisers Hyderabad by four runs, as Australian fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile scripted the victory with a brilliant last over, giving away only 5 runs when 10 were needed by the Sunrisers.

Daredevils are sure to face a stern test on Monday with an in-form Russell as their main threat. KKR skipper Gautam Gambhir, having already tonked two fifties, and Suryakumar Yadav are also in great power-hitting form.

KKR also boast of a formidable bowling line-up led by South African pace spearhead Morne Morkel. West Indian "mystery" spinner Sunil Narine has been economical and will pose a genuine threat to the Daredevils batsmen.

His duel with Delhi's star batsman Yuvraj Singh will be a fascinating contest that may determine the outcome of the match.

Russell and India pacer Umesh Yadav can be quite handy with the ball too.

Delhi will hope their skipper, South African Jean Paul Duminy maintains his good form in the game.

Australian pacer Nathan Coulter-Nile and South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir will lead the bowling pack and so far they have been able to keep their opponents on a tight leash. The leg-spin duo of Tahir and Amit Mishra have been Daredevils' bowling trump cards so far.


Delhi Daredevils: JP Duminy (captain), Mohammed Shami, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Mayank Agarwal, Shahbaz Nadeem, Saurabh Tiwary, Jayant Yadav, Imran Tahir, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Angelo Mathews, Yuvraj Singh, Amit Mishra, Jaidev Unadkat, Gurinder Sandhu, Shreyas Iyer, CM Gautam, Travis Head, Srikar Bharat, Albie Morkel, Markus Stoinis, Zaheer Khan, KK Jiyas, Domnic Joseph.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), Piyush Chawla, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Manish Pandey, Pat Cummins, Ryan ten Doeschate, Suryakumar Yadav, Andre Russell, Veer Pratap Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Brad Hogg, Sumit Narwal, Sheldon Jackson, Aditya Garhwal, KC Cariappa, Vaibhav Rawal, Azhar Mahmood, Johan Botha.

Match starts 8 PM IST


Please Wait while comments are loading...