Power of No. 2: Mumbai Indians could win IPL 2015

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, May 20: On Sunday (May 24), at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, Rohit Sharma and his Mumbai Indians' team-mates could be celebrating with the IPL trophy if the trend of previous 4 years continues.

IPL Special; Playoffs schedule; Rain rules for playoffs

What happened from 2010 to 2014 augurs well for MI. And they have already booked a spot in the final in IPL 2015.

Mumbai Indians' players celebrate their win over CSK in Qualifier 1

Last night at Wankhede Stadium, MI defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 25 runs in Qualifier 1.

The trend we are talking about is the team which has finished 2nd in the league table has gone on to win the title in the previous 4 editions. Only once has the table-topper captured the trophy. No. 2 has been more powerful than No. 1 in the past 7 years.

This year, MI bounced back from a poor start to end the league phase at No. 2, behind CSK. Now, the signs could be good for Rohit and his men to lift their 2nd crown, after 2013.

Interestingly, MI won their maiden IPL trophy in 2013 after finishing 2nd in the league.

Will the trend continue on Sunday?

IPL champions with their league standings

  • 2008 - Rajasthan Royals (No. 1)
  • 2009 - Deccan Chargers (No. 4)
  • 2010 - Chennai Super Kings (No. 3)
  • 2011 - CSK (No. 2)
  • 2012 - Kolkata Knight Riders (No. 2)
  • 2013 - MI (No. 2)
  • 2014 - KKR (No. 2)
  • 2015 - ?

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...