WC 2015: No 'kar' in Indian squad for the first time in history

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Jan 6: India's 15-men squad for the ICC World Cup 2015 was announced here on Tuesday. The team led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, however, has no 'kar', unlike all the previous editions. [India announce 15-men squad]

In 1975, the Indian squad had two 'kars', namely, Sunil Gavaskar and Eknath Solkar. In 1979, Gavaskar and Vengsarkar represented India's 'cricketing surname' in the squad. In 1983 too, the year when India won their maiden World Cup title, the squad comprised Gavaskar and Vengsarkar. [Full WC 2015 itinerary]

File photo: Sachin Tendulkar with the 2011 World Cup Trophy

In the 1987 edition which was played in the sub-continent for the first time, the Indian squad featured Manoj Prabhakar besides Gavaskar and Vengsarkar.

In 1992, Sachin Tendulkar took over from where Gavaskar had left and he was accompanied by Sanjay Manjrekar and Manoj Prabhakar. In 1996, the Indian squad saw the same three 'kars' representing the team in their home soil.

In 1999, 2003 and 2007, Ajit Agarkar joined Sachin Tendulkar as the second 'kar' in the team. In the 2011 edition when India won their second World Cup title, Tendulkar was the only 'kar' in the team.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...