New World Cup records: Dhoni surpasses Kapil, India on cloud nine

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hamilton, Mar 10: It was a day of records for Team India and MS Dhoni on Tuesday. Captain Dhoni surpassed Kapil Dev while the team reached a new high when they defeated Ireland by 8 wickets in a Pool B match of ICC World Cup 2015 here at Seddon Park.

Match Scorecard; World Cup Special; Quarter-final Schedule

India extended their winning run at World Cup. This was India's 5th victory in a row. The success also gave them a new mark in World Cup history, matching West Indies. (WC Points Table)

File photo: Kapil (left) and Dhoni pose with World Cup trophies. Kapil with 2011 trophy and Dhoni with 1983 one

Today's triumph resulted in the longest winning streak for India in World Cups. Now they are unbeaten in 9 matches till date, equalling West Indies' feat of 9 consecutive wins in 1975 and 1979 editions (won both titles). India's previous best was 8 in 2003 under Sourav Ganguly.

In all games, Dhoni was at the helm and is still not finished yet. However, India have a long way to match the all-time record. Australia strung together 25 World Cup game wins between 1999 and 2011.

Dhoni today also became India's most successful World Cup captain. The wicketkeeper-batsman pocketed his 12th win as a World Cup skipper. This is the best for India, overtaking Kapil's 11.

Also in this match, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan recorded best opening partnership for India in World Cups. The pair added 174 to break Sachin Tendulkar-Ajay Jadeja's mark of 163 in 1996.

Dhoni and Kapil are India's only captains to have won the World Cup. Kapil was the first to do it in 1983 and Dhoni emulated him in 2011.

India's 9-match unbeaten run started at 2011 edition when they beat West Indies on March 20. From there, they went on to capture the trophy (4 victories in a row). In entire 2011 tournament, India lost only 1 match, to South Africa and tied one (against England).

Now in 2015 tournament, they have added 5 wins (Pakistan, South Africa, United Arab Emirates, West Indies, Ireland). They wrap up the league stage on March 14 against Zimbabwe in Auckland. They are likely to face Bangladesh in the quarter-final on March 19 in Melbourne.

Most wins as India captain in World Cups (As on March 10, 2015)

12 (Played 14, Lost 1, Tied 1) - MS Dhoni (2011, 2015)

11 (P 15, L 4) - Kapil Dev (1983, 1987)

10 (P 23, L 12, No Result 1) - Mohammad Azharuddin (1992, 1996, 1999)

9 (P 11, L 2) - Sourav Ganguly (2003)

9-match winning streak at World Cup for India (March 20, 2011 to March 10, 2015)

1. Defeated West Indies by 80 runs (March 20, 2011, Chennai)

2. Beat Australia by 5 wickets (March 24, 2011 - Quarter-final, Ahmedabad)

3. Beat Pakistan by 29 runs (March 30, 2011 - Semi-final, Mohali)

4. Beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets (April 2, 2011 - Final, Mumbai)

5. Beat Pakistan by 76 runs (February 15, 2015, Adelaide)

6. Beat South Africa by 130 runs (February 22, 2015, Melbourne)

7. Beat United Arab Emirates by 9 wickets (February 28, 2015, Perth)

8. Beat West Indies by 4 wickets (March 6, 2015, Perth)

9. Beat Ireland by 8 wickets (March 10, 2015, Hamilton)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...