MS Dhoni and Team India create history with 3-0 whitewash in Sydney

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sydney, Jan 31: Mahendra Singh Dhoni today (January 31) became the first Indian captain to achieve a clean sweep of a series against Australia in Australia.

3rd T20I scorecard; Full series results

At the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Sunday, India won a last-ball thriller in the third and final Twenty20 International to whitewash Australia 3-0. India successfully chased down 198. They had won the previous 2 games in Adelaide and Melbourne by 37-run and 27-run margins respectively.

Dhoni (left) and Ashwin celebrate an Australian wicket in the 3rd T20I

The 34-year-old Dhoni, who had faced a lot of criticism in recent times, has bounced back with hat-trick of successes. India's greatest limited overs captain has now added another major achievement to his impressive CV.

Dhoni is the only skipper in the history of the game to have won all three ICC trophies (World T20 in 2007, World Cup in 2011 and Champions Trophy in 2013).

With the rout of the home team, Dhoni and his team became the first ever Indian side to whitewash the Australians on their grounds. Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and the bowlers were the chief architects of the landmark victory. Kohli hit 3 consecutive half centuries in the T20I rubber.

This was Dhoni's second series win as a captain in Australia. In 2008, he had lifted the Commonwealth Bank Tri-series ODI trophy, beating the hosts 2-0 in the best-of-three finals.

With this historic feat in Sydney, India has became the number one side in ICC Rankings in T20Is. They are also number one in Tests and number two in ODIs.

India ended their Australian tour today, leaving the country with a 4-4 scoreline. Australia won the ODI series 4-1 and India won T20Is 3-0.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...