Marlon Samuels escapes sanction over 'throat-slit' gesture

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Sydney, Feb 26: West Indies batsman Marlon Samuels will not be sanctioned over a "throat-slitting" gesture he made in his team's World Cup win over Zimbabwe, a source told AFP today.

World Cup Special

Samuels appeared to run his thumb from one side of his throat to the other to mark his century in Tuesday's 73-run victory.

File photo of Marlon Samuels

"The match officials have seen the incident and have decided not to lay a charge," said a source.

However, it's understood that the match referee did have an informal talk to the West Indian regarding the matter. Samuels made an undefeated 133 and shared a 372-run stand with Chris Gayle, who became the first double centurion in World Cup history, in the Pool B game at Canberra's Manuka Oval.


Please Wait while comments are loading...