Magnificent Seven: The ICC World Cup finals' venues

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Seven grounds have had the honour of hosting a World Cup final. Lord's Cricket Ground in London has the distinction of holding 4 finals.

World Cup Special; Tournament Guide; 10 major changes

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), the host for 2015 World Cup title decider on March 29, will become the second ground ever to conduct a final more than one time.

Melbourne Cricket Ground. Photo: MCG's Twitter page

This year's World Cup will get under way on February 14. 14 teams will be competing.

The grounds which hosted World Cup finals

Lord's Cricket Ground, London (England) - 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999 finals

Winner - West Indies (1975, 79), India (83), Australia (99)

Eden Gardens, Kolkata (India) - 1987

Winner - Australia

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne (Australia) - 1992

Winner - Pakistan

Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore (Pakistan) - 1996

Winner - Sri Lanka

New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (South Africa) - 2003

Winner - Australia

Kensington Oval, Bridgetown (West Indies) - 2007

Winner - Australia

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (India) - 2011

Winner - India

MCG, Melbourne (Australia) - 2015

Winner - ?

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...