KPL: Rockstars humbled by Mysuru Warriors

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubbali, September 18: Mysuru Warriors recorded their second straight win in the fifth edition of the Karbonn KPL powered by Cycle Agarbathis cricket tournament as Rockstars crumbled under the weight of the season's first 200-plus total.

[Full schedule of KPL 2016]

Inspired by Arjun Hoysala's 61-ball 89, the Warriors thumped the Rockstars by a massive margin of 114 runs in front of a huge crowd at the KSCA stadium in Rajnagar on Sunday afternoon.

Man of the match Arjun Hoysala (right)

Winning the toss and deciding to bat first under clear skies and bright sunshine, Mysuru's top order got off to a solid start.

The pitch had dried up and the ball came on nicely as openers Rajoo Bhatkal and Arjun Hoysala found out as they forged a formidable partnership upfront; compiling an 80-ball 113, before Bhatkal (46), trying to up the ante, fell prey to Balachandra Naveen's bowling.

The dismissal did not stop Hoysala from putting the bad balls away, as Rockstars were left to rue the missed opportunity early in the innings, when the batsman had edged SL Akshay high towards first slip but the chance was grassed.

Hoysala's 61-ball 89, studded with seven fours, and two sixes allied with pulsating cameos from K Gowtham (33 off 14 balls) and Aniruddha Joshi (27 off 9 balls), spurred the Warriors past the first 200 run mark in this year's KPL.

Riding on the wings of some breathtaking stroke play, the Warriors finished with a mammoth 219 for four at the end of 20 overs.

In reply, Rockstars began the chase on a promising note, with opener Rajeev H (51; 23b, 3x6, 7x4) getting to his fifty in double quick time.

It was eventually Rajoo Bhatkal who ended his cameo, by bowling him with a change of pace. Rajeev's dismissal triggered a collapse, as the Rockstars slipped from 63-3 to 100-7.

Rockstars' captain Kichcha Sudeep arrived at the crease to a rousing welcome but he could only watch helplessly from one end, as his team folded for a paltry 106.

J. Suchith was the pick of the bowlers taking 3 for 27 from his full quota of overs. Arjun Hoysala was adjudged the Man of the Match for his brilliant innings of 89.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...