KPL 2016: Rockstars end campaign without a single win; Hubli Tigers enter semis

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubballi, Oct 1: Hubli Tigers were too strong for Rockstars in the last match of the league phase. The Tigers needed to win this match to climb to the 2nd position in the table and they did it emphatically in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar on Friday night (September 30).

Mysuru end league with unbeaten record

The 85-run win earned them a clash against Belagavi Panthers in the first semi-final to be played on Saturday afternoon (October 1). In the 2nd last-four contest of the day unbeaten Mysuru Warriors will battle it out against Bellary Tuskers.

Mohammed Taha (right) receives his Man-of-the-match award

Rockstars set a target of 185 in 18 overs, were never up to the task and although opener Vihaan Rajeev (31; 16b, 3x6, 2x4)) struck a few lusty blows they fell way short of the target.

Earlier, put in to bat in the rain-restricted match, opener Mohammed Taha (59; 36b, 2x6, 8x4) flayed the attack with some stinging strokes all round the wicket.

His second wicket partnership of 72 in 42 balls with skipper Kunal Kapoor (27) put Tigers on the road to a huge total.

KPL Points Table after the league phase

Taha was named man of the match for his fine innings. Later, Kranthi Kumar (33 n.o; 12b, 2x6, 3x4) stepped on the gas to cash in on the stand.

The Tigers finished with 10 points while the Rockstars failed to open their points tally.

Brief scores

Hubli Tigers: 184 for 7 in 18 overs (Mohammed Taha 59, Kranthi Kumar 33 n.o, Kunal Kapoor 27, Dikshanshu Negi 25, SL Akshay 3/37, Raju Gowda 2/26) beat Rockstars 99 for 5 in 18 overs (Vihaan Rajeev 31, RK Rahul 37) 85 runs

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...