KPL 2016: Namma Shivamogga win thriller by VJD method

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubballi, Sep 19: In a match of fluctuating fortunes, constantly interrupted by rain, Namma Shivamogga registered their 1st win in the 5th edition of the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament here at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar on Sunday night (September 18).

Full schedule of the tournament

They beat a combative Bellary Tuskers by 4 wickets in a thrilling match settled by the VJD (V Jayadevan System) rain-rule method. (Hubli win season opener)

Shivamogga's Shreyas (right) receives his Man-of-the-match cheque

Set to make 170 for a win in 20 overs, the rain interruptions kept altering the target until the final score was set at 159 in 16 overs.

Shivamogga were not too well placed at 61 for four but an excellent 60 runs in 5.2 overs between Shreyas Gopal (42 in 20b, 2x6, 3x4) and Abrar Kazi (37 in 23b, 1x6, 4x4) put the team in the driving seat.

Siddharth (22 n.o. off 9 balls) and Syed Zeeshan (12 not out off 7 balls) polished off the rest of the runs to help the team win.

Earlier, opting to bat first, Bellary suffered an early set-back, when opener Rohan Kadam fell to Stuart Binny, but Amit Verma (27) and Devraj went about making amends by batting watchfully.

Later, KB Pawan (42, 1x6, 4x4) along-with Suneel Raju steadied the ship for a while, adding 47 crucial runs. Undeterred by the frequent rain halts, the Tuskers middle-order, inspired by some power-hitting from Suneel (28) and Akhil (20), kept the Tuskers en route to a competitive total.

SP Manjunath (28, 4x1, 6x2) gave the much required thrust at the end of the innings, powering the team to 169/6. .

The rains continued to create interruptions, as the target had to be revised twice. The Tuskers got early breakthroughs sending back Sadiq Kirmani, Pawan Deshpande (8) and Stuart Binny (1), in quick succession.

But Gopal came good in time and was adjudged the man of the match. IG Anil of Bellary Tuskers returned figures of 3 for 37.

Brief scores: Bellary Tuskers: 169/6 in 20 overs (KB Pawan 42, Amit Verma 27, Suneel Raju 28, SB Manjunath 28, KP Appanna 2/35) lost to Namma Shivamogga: 161/6 in 16 overs (Shreyas Gopal 42, Abrar Kazi 37, KV Siddharth 22, IG Anil 3/37) by 4 wickets on VJD method

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...