KPL 2016: Know your team - Namma Shivamogga

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Sep 16: Namma Shivamogga is one of the newest teams in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament, having made their debut only in the year 2015.

Full schedule of tournament; List of players sold

However, Namma Shivamogga have a strong team with a number of exciting players in the ranks. Stuart Binny, the India international cricketer who was recently in the national team on their tour of the West Indies is a key player of Shivamogga franchise, owned by Umapathy MS of SGB Crushers group. (Know your team - Mysuru)

Stuart Binny

The team has a number of other excellent first class cricketers including Shreyas Gopal, Abrar Kazi, David Mathias, KP Appanna and some promising youngsters including the hard-hitting batsman Sadiq Kirmani, Pavan Deshpande, Zeeshan Ali, Nischal, KV Siddharth and others. (Know your team - Bellary)

Thus, the team coached by former cricketer GK Anil Kumar is a good mix of experience and youth and its many all rounders will be an asset in the T20 form of the game. The team will be led by India's all-rounder Binny. (Know your team - Hubli)

In the 2015 edition of the Karnataka Premier League, Namma Shivamogga finished at the 6th place in the points table with just six points. But the nature of T20 cricket is such that any team with so many hard-hitting batsmen and good all rounders must fancy its chances on its day. (Binny hit for 5 sixes in an over)

Namma Shivamogga will certainly be very competitive in this edition, particularly as they have picked a good number of all rounders at the auction. (Binny's wife hits back at trolls)

Binny and Mathias would be their main medium pacers while Kazi, Gopal and Deshpande would be the main spinners. The fact that all these can also bat pretty well will be the team's strength. Another bowler who could be expected to serve the team well is the experienced left arm spinner KP Appanna who has had plenty of IPL experience.

Kirmani, who scored an unbeaten 87, last season, can be pretty handy with the bat and Namma Shivamogga would look up to him and other youngsters to take the fight to the opposition.

Namma Shivamogga is primed to go and this could well be their season of reckoning.

Shivamogga squad

Stuart Binny (captain)

Sadiq Kirmani (wicketkeeper)

Shreyas Gopal

Abrar Kazi

Pavan Deshpande

David Mathias

Siddharth K V

KP Appanna

Zeeshan Ali Sayeed

Nischal D

Nikin Jose

Sharath Srinivas

Pradeep Gangadhar

Hoysala K

Sharan Gouda

Rohan Raju

Vineet Manjunath

Yuvraj R

Bharath Prashanth

Rishabh GM

Owner - Umapathy MS

Support Staff

Raghavendra S - Manager

G K Anil Kumar - Coach

Deepak Chougule - Coach

Anutosh Poll- CEO

Irfanulla Khan

Jaba Prabu - Physio

Chetan Pojary - Co-ordinator

Kiran Kudtarakar - Video Analyst

All matches of KPL 2016 will be telecast live on Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD Channels.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...