KPL 2016: Know your team - Mysuru Warriors

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Sep 15: Mysuru Warriors (MW) are a Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament franchise, based out of Mysuru.

Full schedule of KPL 2016; List of players sold

Led by India's rising batting star, Manish Pandey, Mysuru, with a heady mix of aggressive batsmen, wily bowlers and effective all-rounder's, will start as one of the favorites at this year's KPL. (Know your team - Bellary)

Manish Pandey is captain of Mysuru Warriors

In the auctions held last month, Mysuru lapped up Railways batsman Jonathan Rongsen for a whooping Rs 3.5 lakh, one of the highest bids at this year's auction.

Also breaking the three lakh barrier was 19-year- old, fast-bowler, Vyshak Vijay Kumar, who was bought by the Warriors for Rs 3.2 lakh. It is home-coming for Vyshak, who had made his debut with Mysuru Warriors in 2014, bagging eight wickets in his opening two games.

Adding variety to the bowling attack would be slow, left arm spinner Jagadeesha Suchith, who was retained by MW. One of the younger members of the squad, Suchith has performed consistently well in the U-16, U-19, and U-23 squads for Karnataka. His good performance in the KPL landed him a contract with IPL team Mumbai Indians.

Explosive hard-hitter and off-spinner Gowtham K and Arjun Hoysala, were the other two players retained prior to this year's auction. (Know your team - Hubli)

Mysuru Warriors recently made headlines, after they roped in former Australian wicket-keeper batsman, Brad Haddin as mentor for KPL-5. The presence of Haddin in the dressing room will surely add value to the side.

Haddin, who is the first overseas cricketer to be associated with the KPL brand, is expected to bring valuable inputs to the table, said Arjun Ranga, owner of Mysuru Warriors and Managing Director of Cycle Pure Agarbathies.

'We are delighted to have Haddin on board as a mentor for Mysuru Warriors in the upcoming KPL. We are sure that his experience in the international arena will bring a lot of exposure to our players, and will help them reach the next level', he further added.

According to RX Murali, coach Mysuru Warriors, "the experience that he (Haddin) brings in having played at the highest level cannot be traded for anything. He has brought in a lot of clarity in approach.

"What happened last year is history, and we will be starting afresh. Our aim is to win the championship this time," added Murali.

Mysuru Warriors, who last won the KPL trophy in 2014, did not have a great outing last season. With just two wins in the tournament, they barely managed to avoid wooden spoon, finishing seventh, one spot above the Rockstars.

However, with plenty of new faces and an exciting mix of talent, Mysuru would want to get back to winning ways this year. The fans expect nothing less than a title win.

Mysuru Warriors squad

J Suchith

Manish Pandey (captain)

Gowtham K

Jonathan R

Arjun Hoysala

Anand Doddamani

Anirudh Joshi

Kushal Wadhwani

Aditya Sagar

Rajoo Bhatkal

Vyshak Vijay Kumar


Liyan Khan

Nihal Ullal

Nikith S Sanganakal

Koushik V

Akshay Kodoth

Abhishek Bhat

Shreyas Nagendra

Nandakishor KV

Owners - Arjun Ranga and Pavan Ranga

Support Staff

Suresh MR -Team Manager

RX Murali - Head-Coach

Vijay Madhyalkar- Assistant Coach

Arun Kumar N - Support Staff

Varun - Assistant Support Staff

Sandeep - Assistant Support Staff

Praveen Singh - Logistics Manager

Ravindra - Local Manager

Sham Rao - Trainer

Raghavendra - Assistant Trainer

Madhusudhan - Assistant Trainer

Shravan - Physio

Mohan Das - Assistant Physio

Naresh Mothla - Masseur

Brad Haddin - Mentor

Karthik Bhat - Social Media

Mallesh - Media Team

Vishwas Avathi- Media Team

Shoba Maruthy - Media Team

Chiranth Jain - Media Team

Sudarshan - Media Team

Athul Rao - Video Analyst

All matches of KPL 2016 will be telecast live on Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD Channels.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...