KPL 2016: Bellary Tuskers crowned champions

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubballi, Oct 2: Bellary Tuskers were crowned as the champions of the 5th Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament. They played a brilliant brand of cricket to defeat Hubli Tigers in the final at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar in front of a sell-out crowd on Sunday night (October 2).

Full list of award winners

Tuskers today were in brilliant form. They played to a plan and shifted their game to a higher gear to slam local favourites Hubli Tigers by 35 runs in the final played under lights.

Bellary Tuskers' playes, owners and coaching staff celebrate after winning KPL 2016

The challenge for the Tuskers was almost immediate. They lost the toss and were asked to take first strike. But they planned their assault on the title superbly by first posting an impregnable total of 189 for 5 and then set about ensuring that the target would beyond Hubli Tigers' reach.

The only danger for Tuskers was Hubli Tigers' opening batsman Mohammed Taha, a fearless striker at the top. However Tuskers had a plan to contain him. They took pace off the ball by introducing spinners and slower medium pacers early to confound him. He perished after making 36 (21b, 2x6, 5x4) and after that it was a cakewalk for Tuskers.

Earlier, despite losing the consistent KB Pawan to a run out in only the second over, Tuskers, coached by former Karnataka opening batsman J Arun Kumar, moved to top gear instantly.

The left handed opener Rohan Kadam (61; 40b, 1x6, 8x4), another consistent performer for Tuskers blossomed in the company of Suneel Raju (36; 27b, 2x6, 3x4) and the pair stitched together an impressive 83-run stand in 54 balls. Both batsmen rotated strike and ensured that despite losing Pawan early they rattled 53 runs in the powerplay overs.

Bellary Tuskers' B Akhil (right) plays a shot en route to his half century in the final. He won the Man-of-the-match award for his 24-ball 50

The explosive start came in handy as other batsmen, notably man of the match B Akhil (50; 24b, 3x6, 5x4) scored at a hectic run rate. Left arm spinner Shivil Kaushik put a check on the run-rate by scalping both Raju and Kadam but as the innings progressed Akhil gave it the push to post an impregnable total.

Brief scores

Bellary Tuskers: 189 for 5 in 20 overs (Rohan Kadam 61, B Akhil 50, Sunil Raju 36, Shivil Kaushik 2/18) beat Hubli Tigers: 154 for 9 in 20 overs (Dikshanshu Negi 39, Mohammed Taha 36, Kunal Kapoor 27, Steve Lazarus 3/12, Amit Verma 2/38) by 35 runs

Man-of-the-final: B Akhil

Orange Cap: Mayank Agarwal (Belagavi Panthers) 414 runs, 240 balls, Highest Score - 119 Not Out, Strike Rate - 172.50, 44 fours and 15 Sixes

Purple Cap: J Suchith (Mysuru Warriors) 15 Wickets, Best - 4/26, Average - 12.93, Economy - 6.46, Strike Rate - 12

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...