KPL 2015: Rockstars earn 1st point after washout

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubballi, Sep 6: Persistent rains on Saturday night (September 5) forced the abandonment of the match between Belagavi Panthers and Rockstars in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2015 here.

Tournament schedule

The washout meant that the Rockstars gained their first point in the KPL, having lost their 7 previous matches.

KPL 2015: Rockstars earn 1st point after washout

For the first time in the tournament, a team opted to bat first and understandably so. The Panthers sought to get their batsmen going for bigger battles ahead.

Both the openers Abhishek Reddy and Mayank Agarwal sparkled under the conditions. With the crowd screaming for boundaries and the maximums, Mayank set the tone and Abhishek was not too far behind.

The pair kept the scorers busy milking nine runs at an average per over. Mayank fell to a brilliant effort from Rajkumar who ran a good 20 yards from the extra cover fence to take a diving catch that had the crowd giving him a standing ovation.

Abhishek however continued in the same vein and runs kept flowing until the skies opened and stopped play after 14 overs with the Panthers on 123 for one.


Belagavi Panthers

Abhishek Reddy (not out) 60 (37b, 6x4, 1x6); Mayank Agarwal c Rajkumar b Charan Teja 44 (34b, 4x4); R Jonathan 13

Extras: (w-6) 6.

Total: (For 1 wicket, 14 overs) 123

Fall of wickets: 1-92 (Agarwal)

Bowling: Sunil Joshi 2-0-11-0; David Johnson 4-0-36-0; C Raghu 2-0-16-0; R Raju 1-0-15-0; Dhruva Sharma 1-0-16-0; Charan Teja 3-0-17-1; Mahesh 1-0-12-0

Toss: Won by Belagavi Panthers; opted to Bat

Result: Match abandoned due to rain. 1 point each for Belagavi Panthers and Rockstars

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...