KPL 2015: Mitrakant Yadav bowls Mangalore United to victory

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mysuru, Sept 16: The Rockstars finally rocked and at one point gave Mangalore United a scare before stumbling to deceive as Mangalore held their nerves to record a 16-run victory in an entertaining encounter in the second match on Tuesday (September 15) in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2015.

Tournament schedule

The Rockstars, chasing 146. were struggling despite a fine 22 by Raahul, but the advent of C Raghu changed the equation.

File photo: Mitrakant Yadav celebrates a wicket during KPL 2015

Raghu (49) and Madan Mohan (38) stitched together 74 runs from 49 balls for the sixth wicket, a partnership that threatened to take the game away from Mangalore.

However, the fall of Mohan when victory was a possibility saw the Rockstars losing their way as they lost two quick wickets with left arm spinner Mitrakant Yadav keeping his head and claiming 4 wickets to set up victory for his team.

Put into bat, Mangalore's 8th wicket pair of Udit Patel (25 not out) and Ronit More (19 not out) hammered 42 runs off the last 26 balls to prop up their team's total after the top and middle order had thrown their wickets away looking for quick glory.

After the opening duo of Rohit Sabharwal (15) and Shishir Bhavane (29) departed, wickets fell at regular intervals and the team getting to a total of 20 looked a distant task.

But Udit, dropped on 0, and Ronit gamely took their chances to help the team to a modest total.

Mangalore will next face Namma Shivamogga for a place in the next round.


Mangalore United

Rohit Sabharwal lbw b Nitish 15; Shishir Bhavane c Charan b Mahesh 29 (19b, 5x4); Rohan Kadam c M Mohan b Mahesh 19; KC Avinash c C Raghu b C Teja 9; Nishith N st Sudeep b C Raghu 8; BN Bharath c C Teja b C Raghu 5; Arshdeep Brar c C Raghu b Mahesh 7; Udit Patel (not out) 25 (19b, 1x4, 1x6); Ronit More (not out) 19 (12b, 2 x 4)

Extras: (lb-2, w-7) 9

Total: (For 7 wickets, 20 overs) 145

Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Sabharwal); 2-60 (Bhavane); 3-68 (Kadam); 4-84 (Avinash); 5-90 (Nishith); 6-100 (Bharath); 7-103 (Brar)

Bowling: Raghu Raju 2-0-17-0; David Johnson 1-0-15-0; Nitish 4-0-34-1; C Raghu 4-0-18-2; Mahesh 4-0-21-3; Charan Teja 4-0-26-1; Madan Mohan 1-0-12-0


Sudeep c R More b Pradeep 4; Raju Gowda c R Sabharwal b R More 1; Raahul RK c R More b M Yadav 22 (20b, 3x4); Madan Mohan c Nishith b M Yadav 38 (38b 1x4, 1x6); Charan Teja b M Yadav 9; C Raghu (run out) 49 (29b, 3x4, 3x6);David Johnson (not out) 1; Nitish b R More 1

Extras: (lb-1, w-3) 4

Total: (For 8 wickets, 20 overs) 129

Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Gowda); 2-10 (Sudeep); 3-38 (Raahul); 4-51 (Teja); 5-125 (Mohan); 6-126 (Mahesh); 7-127 (Raghu); 8-129 (Nitish)

Bowling: Ronit More 4-0-24-2; Pradeep T 4-0-12-1; BN Bharath 4-0-38-0; Mitrakanth Yadav 4-0-17-3; Udit Patel 4-0-37-0

Toss: Won by Rockstars; opted to field

Result: Mangalore United won by 16 runs

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...