KPL 2015: Hubli Tigers notch 32-run win over Rockstars

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubballi, Sep 4: Leg-spinner Dikshanshu Negi's 4 for 9 and half centuries from opening batsman KB Pawan (55) and No 3 bat Kunal Kapoor (52) paved the way for Hubli Tigers' 32-run win over the Rockstars in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2015 match 4 here on Friday.

Tournament schedule

The Rockstars showed a light semblance of a fight when opening batsman Rajeev hammered three fours and an equal number of sixes in his 23-ball 39.

Hubli Tigers' opening batsman KB Pawan in action during his knock of 55

Other than him C Raghu and Madan Mohan gave the good evening crowd something to remember by when they used the long handle.

The two not only entertained the crowd, but also ensured their team did not finish with too little on the board through their 55-run unbroken partnership for the 7th wicket.

Otherwise wickets fell at regular intervals as spinner Dikshanshu Negi wove his magic to claim a stunning four for nine from his four overs.

Put into bat, the Tigers lost opener Mohammad Taha cheaply when the batsman dragged one from former India pacer David Johnson onto his stumps.

For the next 9.4 overs, Pawan and Kapoor held sway and made merry as they found the Rockstars attack to their liking, knitting together 81 runs for the second wicket.

The duo matched each other stroke for stroke until Kapoor broke away and played some lovely inside out shots to regale the crowd and bring up his 50.

As the pair looked set to help their team post a huge total, the Rockstars struck. The Tigers lost three quick wickets that of Kunal, Kranthi Kumar and Pawan, and the run rate dipped.

However Dishanshu Negi (18) and Tigers skipper Sreenath Aravind (17 N.O.) ensured the team crossed the 150-run mark.

Negi claimed the Man-of-the-match award, a cheque for Rupees ten thousand for his four for 9 and 17-ball 18.

After receiving his award, the leggie said, "It is a good start winning the first match and we hope to do well in the other matches as well".

Rockstars' skipper Sudeep felt, "We did not practice enough but I think we did well today. We will put our efforts into making a match of our other contests in the tournament".


Hubli Tigers

Mohammad Taha b D Johnson 1; KB Pawan c Charan b Raghu 55 (43b, 7x4); Kunal Kapoor b Charan 52 (32b, 7x4); Kranthi Kumar c & b S Joshi 5; Dikshanshu Negi (run out) 18 (17b, 1x4); Sreenath Aravind (not out) 17 (13b, 1x4, 1x6); Nitin Bhille (not out) 4

Extras: (w-2) 2

Total: (For five wickets, 20 overs) 154

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Taha); 2-98 (Kapoor); 3-113 (Kumar); 4-117 (Pawan); 5-150 (Negi)

Bowling: Sunil Joshi 4-0-16-1; David Johnson 4-0-31-1; C Raghu 4-0-29-1; Dhruva Sharma 2-0-21-0; Charan Teja 4-0-34-1; Adarsh Balakrishnan 2-0-23-0


Raahul RK b D Negi 4; Rajeev H lbw b D Negi 39 (23b, 3x4, 3x6); Sunil Joshi c Kapoor b Chetan Williams 10; Dhruva Sharma st N Bhille b D Negi 10; C Raghu (not out) 20 (21b, 1x4); Raju Gowda lbw b Negi 0; Charan Teja c Aravind b B Naveen 0; Madan Mohan (not out) 31 (25b, 2x4, 1x6). Extras: (b-4, lb-1, nb-2, w-1) 8.

Total: (For six wickets, 20 overs) 122

Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Rajeev); 2-45 (Raahul); 3-61 (Joshi); 4-66 (Sharma); 5-66 (Gowda); 6-67 (Teja).

Bowling: Santhabennur Akshay 4-0-33-0; Sreenath Aravind 4-1-20-0; Kranthi Kumar 1-0-10-0; Chetan Williams 4-0-30-1 Balachander Naveen 3-0-15-1; Dikshanshu Negi 4-0-9-0

Toss: Won by Rockstars; opted to field

Result: Hubli Tigers won by 32 runs

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...