KPL 2015: Hubli Tigers to face Bijapur Bulls in final

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mysuru, Sep 19: Hubli Tigers defeated Belagavi Panthers to enter the final of the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2015 on Saturday night. In the title clash tomorrow from 5 PM IST here, Hubli will face Bijapur Bulls.

In Qualifier 2, which went to the last over, Hubli registered a 23-run victory over Belagavi at the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadiyar ground. In Qualifier 1 yesterday (September 18), Bijapur had beaten Belagavi. Both Hubli and Bijapur are in the final for the first time.

File photo: Mohammed Taha scored 93 runs for Hubli

Chasing 178 to win, Belagavi were restricted to 154/8 in 20 overs. Paceman SL Akshay was the hero for Hubli as he claimed 4/29 in 4 overs.

Belagavi did not have a good start. They were reduced to 65/4 in 10.5 overs. From then on, they were always behind the required run rate. KN Bharath (48) and Praveen Dubey (24) fought hard but victory was out of reach once they were dismissed.

Earlier, opener Mohammed Taha's 93 helped Hubli post 177/7 in 20 overs after being sent into bat by opposition skipper R Vinay Kumar.

Taha smashed 9 fours and 5 sixes in his 56-ball knock. He and KB Pawan (9) laid a strong foundation for Hubli with a 54-run opening wicket partnership in 6.2 overs. Nitin Bhille (27) and Chethan Williams (21) were the other major contributors with the bat.

For Belagavi, who finished the league stage on top of the table, Vinay and Nitin Mulki took 2 wickets each. Praveen Dubey and Vinoo Prasad had 1 success apiece.


Hubli Tigers

Mohammed Taha c Bharath KN b Praveen Dubey 93 (56b, 9x4, 5x6); Pawan KB b Vinu Prasad 9; Kunal Kapoor run out (Vinay Kumar) 3; Dikshanshu Negi lbw b Nithin Mulki 11; Nitin Bhille c Praveen Dubey b Vinay Kumar 27 (21b, 2x4); Chethan Williams c Stallin Hoover b Nithin Mulki 21 (10b, x4; 2x6); Kranthi Kumar c Jonathan b Vinay Kumar 7; SL Akshay (not out) 2

Extras: 4 (lb-1, w-3) 4

Total (For 7 wickets, 20 overs) 177

Fall of wickets: 1-54 (Pawan); 2-60 (Kunal); 3-73 (Dikshanshu); 4-137 (Taha); 5-146 (Nitin); 6-168 (Chethan); 7-177 (Kumar)

Bowing: R Vinay Kumar 4-0-29-2; Praveen Dubey 4-0-39-1; Satllin Hoover 2-0-18-0; Vinoo Prasad 4-0-23-1; Nithin Mulki 4-0-35-2; Sharath HS 1-0-20-0, Zeeshan Ali Sayyed 1-0-12-0

Belagavi Panthers

Abhishek Reddy c Shivil Koushik b Prateek Jain 19; GS Chiranjeevi c Prateek Jain b SL Akshay 8; R Jonathan c Prateek Jain b Kishore Kamath 5; R Vinay Kumar c Prateek Jain b Shivil Koushik 14; KN Bharath b Akshay 48 (35b, 4x4, 1x6); Praveen Dubey run out (Prateek Jain) 24; Stalin Hoover c Nitin Bhille b Akshay 31 (2x4, 2x6); Zeeshan Ali Sayyed lbw b Akshay 0; Nithin Mulki (not out) 1; Vinoo Prasad (not out) 2

Extras: (w-2) 2

Total (For 8 Wickets, 20 overs) 154

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Chiranjeevi); 2-31 (Jonathan); 3-40 (Abhishek); 4-65 (Vinay); 5-111 (Bharath); 6-139 (Praveen); 7-151 (Stallin); 8-152 (Zeeshan)

Bowling: Prateek Jain 4-0-40-1; Kishore Kamath 4-0-37-1; SL Akshay 4-0-29-4; Shivil Koushik 4-0-22-1; Dikshanshu Negi 3-0-15-0; Kranthi Kumar 1-0-11-0.

Toss: Won by Belagavi Panthers; opted to field

Result: Hubli Tigers won by 23 runs

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...