KPL 2015: Here is full list of cricketers retained; Costliest player Robin Uthappa released

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, July 22: All 6 teams have today announced their 2 retained players for this year's Karnataka Premier League (KPL) ahead of the auction on July 25. Surprisingly, hard-hitting batsman-wicketkeeper Robin Uthappa has been released by Bellary Tuskers. Last year, he was the highest paid at the auction with Rs 5.3 lakh. (Your guide to Players' Auction)

Last year's list of players sold; All the news from last edition

Each franchise is allowed to retain 2 cricketers for this season of KPL. This year sees an addition of a new team in Namma Shivamogga. The 8th team in the tournament is the All Stars Celebrity XI - Rockstars, captained Kannada film actor Sudeep.

Robin Uthappa will be in the Players' Auction

Rockstars will have the services of former Test cricketers Venkatesh Prasad, Sunil Joshi and David Johnson.

Karnataka's double Ranji Trophy winning captain R Vinay Kumar, as expected, is retained by Belagavi Panthers team, the last year's finalists. Manish Pandey, who last week made international debut in Zimbabwe, stays with defending champions Mysore Warriors.

KPL 2015 will be played in Mysuru and Hubli from August 26 to September 13. The tournament is in its 4th edition.

The Players Auction will feature more than 100 cricketers and will be held at Bengaluru's M Chinnswamy Stadium premises on July 25 (Saturday). Each team will have 20 players (2 from catchment areas).

Here is the full list of players retained by the franchises for KPL 2015

Mysore Warriors - Manish Pandey and J Suchith

Mangalore United - Karun Nair and Ronit More

Hubli Tigers - KL Rahul and S Aravind

Bijapur Bulls - R Samarth and KC Cariappa

Bellary Tuskers - Devraj Patil and D Nischal

Belagavi Panthers - R Vinay Kumar and Abhishek Reddy

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...