KPL 2015: Belagavi Panthers' Mayank Agarwal hits 1st century of the season

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubballi, Sep 9: A brilliant century (58-ball 103) by Mayank Agarwal, the first of the season, saw Belagavi Panthers canter to a big 70-run victory over Hubli Tigers in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2015 match on Tuesday (September 8) at the Rajnagar Stadium.

Tournament schedule

Hubli tried to make a match of chasing 210 but fell short due to stringent bowling by the opposition. Left-arm spinner Vinoo Prasad took 4 wickets for Belagavi.

Mayank Agarwal (right) celebrates his century

Hubli started the chase well but lost their way in the middle. Openers Mohammed Taha (31) and KB Pawan (18) set the ball rolling with a 52-run first wicket partnership.

But the rest of the batsmen could not call the shots over the rival bowlers bowed don meekly. Chethan Williams held one end up knowing he was farming a lost cause.

This is one toss Sreenath Aravind will rue having won.

Put into bat, the Belagavi made merry with Mayank on the top of his game. The India ‘A' opener did not have to look back as he milked the Hubli attack dry with a flourish of boundaries and seven huge and mighty sixes.

Mayank and his opening partner, Abhishek Reddy, set the tone for Belagavi with a 112-run opening wicket stand and skipper R Vinay Kumar consolidated his team's position with a pleasing 18-ball 35 to boost the total past 200, the highest of the season surpassing Mangalore United's 191.


Belagavi Panthers

Abhishek Reddy b Kranthi K 57 (38b, 4x4, 2 x 6); Mayank Agarwal 103 (58b, 5x4, 7x6); Pushtak Nag (run out) 9; R Vinay Kumar c KB Pawan b Kranthi K 35 (18b, 4x4, 1 x 6); R Jonathan (Not Out) 1; Praveen Dubey (Not Out) 0

Extras: (w-2, nb-1, lb-3) 6

Total: (For 4 wickets, 20 overs) 210

Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Reddy); 2-127 (Negi); 3-201 (Kumar); 4-209 (Agarwal)

Bowling: Sreenath Aravind 4-0-36-0; Prateek Jain 4-0-54-0; B Naveen 3-0-28-0; Kranthi Kumar 4-0-38-3; Chetan Willaims 1-0-10-0; Shivil Kaushik 3-0-32-0; Dikshanshu Negi 1-0-9-0

Hubli Tigers

Mohammed Taha c Jonathan b P Dubey 31 (20b, 4x2, 2x6); KB Pawan c Sharath b P Dubey 18 (15b, 3x4); Kunal Kapoor c M Agarwal b V Prasad 15 (17b, 1x4); Dikshanshu Negi (run out) 3; Kranthi Kumar c Agarwal b Stalin Hoover 17 (15b, 2x4); Nithin Bhille c Pushtak b V Prasad 4; Chetan Williams c sub (Kondajji) b V Prasad 30 (25b, 3 x 4, 1 x6); Sreenath Aravind ; (run out) 2; B Naveen c P Dubey b R Vinay 11; Shivil Kaushi c Sub (Kondajji) b V Prasad 4; Prateek Jain (Not Out) 0

Extras: (b-1, w-3, lb-1) 5

Total: (All out, 19.4 overs) 140

Fall of wickets: 1-53 (Pawan); 2-53 (Taha), 3-58 (Negi); 4-48 (Kumar); 5-82 (Bhille); 6-93 (Kapoor); 7-106 (Aravind); 8-132 (Naveen); 9-140 (Williams)

Bowling: Vinay Kumar 4-0-32-1; Stalin Hoover 2-0-22-1; Praveen Dubey 4-1-24-2; HS Sharath 4-0-30-0; Vinoo Prasad 3.4- 0-16-4; Abhishek Reddy 1-0-5-0; Mayank Agarwal 1-0-9-0

Toss: Won by Hubli Tigers; opted to field

Result: Belagavi Panthers won by 70 runs

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...