Kolkata Test: Captain Virat Kohli surpasses Dravid, equals Gavaskar and Pataudi

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Oct 3: Indian captain Virat Kohli reached another milestone when he led the team to an emphatic 178-run victory over New Zealand in the 2nd Test here at Eden Gardens.

Match scorecard; India become No. 1

On Monday (October 3), India thrashed the Kiwis to win the three-match series 2-0 and also climbed to the top of the International Cricket Council's (ICC) rankings again. This was India's 250th Test at home and they made it a memorable one. (List of Indian Test captains)

Virat Kohli (right) and Ajinkya Rahane celebrate a wicket in Kolkata Test

This was Kohli's 9th Test win as India's skipper. He has led the side in 16 matches and lost only 2 with other 5 ending in draws. Kohli is yet to lose a Test at home.

With this latest success, Kohli surpassed Rahul Dravid, who had 8 wins as captain. The Delhi right-hander is now equal with Mansur Ali Khan and Sunil Gavaskar's marks, who both have 9 victories each.

The 27-year-old Kohli led India in a Test for the first time in Adelaide, December 2014, against Australia. He is country's 32nd Test captain.

It was a not a winning start for him as India went down by 48 runs despite Kohli's 141 in the 4th innings with the team chasing 364. In the same match, he had struck 115 in the first innings.

Most Test wins as India captain (Top 5)

27 (60 matches) - MS Dhoni

21 (49) - Sourav Ganguly

14 (47) - Mohammad Azharuddin

9 - Virat Kohli (16), Sunil Gavaskar (47), Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi (40)

8 (25) - Rahul Dravid

Kohli's record as India's Test skipper

Won - 9. Lost - 2. Draw - 5

Kohli's Test wins as captain (9)

August 2015 - Vs Sri Lanka (Colombo, P Sara Oval) - India won by 278 runs

August 2015 - Vs Sri Lanka (Colombo, Sinhalese Sports Club Ground) - India won by 117 runs

November 2015 - Vs South Africa (Mohali) - India won by 108 runs

November 2015 - Vs South Africa (Nagpur) - India won by 124 runs

December 2015 - Vs South Africa (New Delhi) - India won by 337 runs

July 2016 - Vs West Indies (North Sound, Antigua) - India won by an innings and 92 runs

August 2016 - Vs West Indies (Gros Islet) - India won by 237 runs

September 2016 - Vs New Zealand (Kanpur) - India won by 197 runs

October 2016 - Vs New Zealand (Kolkata) - India won by 178 runs

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...