Kagiso Rabada breaks AB de Villiers record with 'Super Six'

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Johannesburg, July 27: Young fast bowler Kagiso Rabada set a record by smashing a "Super Six" at Cricket South Africa's (CSA) annual awards gala night yesterday (July 26).

Rabad wins last-over battle against MS Dhoni

The 21-year-old Rabada, who made his Test debut against India in Mohali in November 2015, was named the South Africa Cricketer of the Year besides taking the honours for Test, ODI, Players choice, Fans choice and best delivery. In all, he dominated with 6 awards.

Super Six: Kagiso Rabada poses with his 6 trophies. Photo from CSA's Twitter page

"He (Rabada) is the first player to win 6 individual awards - both AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla had previously won 5 - and at the age of 21 years 62 days is by far the youngest to have won South African cricket's premier accolade (Cricketer of the Year)," CSA said.

"The other eight players to have received CSA's most prestigious award are Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006), Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013) and AB de Villiers (2014 and 2015) who have all won the award twice with the other previous winners being Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009), and Vernon Philander (2012)," it added.

In July 2015, Rabada had a memorable debut in One Day Internationals against Bangladesh in Mirpur. He took 6/16 (including a hat-trick) in 8 overs with 3 maidens, a record for any debutant in the format.

When Rabada was asked about his best moment, the right-arm paceman was quoted as saying, "We play so many games, but when we won the (ODI) series in India (in 2015)." In a ODI, he won last-over battle against Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni. With 11 required, Rabada conceded 5 and won the game for South Africa in Kanpur.

Rabada has played 6 Tests (24 wickets), 20 ODIs (37 scalps) and 16 T20Is (22 victims) till now.

Full list of awards

South Africa Cricketer of the Year - Kagiso Rabada

Test Cricketer of the Year - Rabada

ODI Cricketer of the Year - Rabada

SA Players' Player of the Year - Rabada

SA Fans' Player of the Year - Rabada

Delivery of the Year - Rabada

T20 Intenational Cricketer of the Year - Imran Tahir

'So Good' Award - Temba Bavuma

International Newcomer of the Year - Stephen Cook

Women's Cricketer of the Year - Dane van Niekerk

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...