IPL set to break CSK-KKR-MI cycle; to see a new champion after 6 years

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, May 26: The ninth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will see a new champion, breaking the tradition of the past six years.

IPL Special Site; Points Table; Schedule; Photos

CSK, KKR and MI have won IPL titles twice each 

Since IPL 3 in 2010 till IPL 8 in 2015, the trophy has been won by either Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (2010, 2011), Gautam Gambhir's Kolkata Knight Riders (2012, 2014) or Rohit Sharma's Mumbai Indians (2013, 2015).

royal challengers bangalore

In the first two editions in 2008 and 2009, Shane Warne-led Rajasthan Royals and Adam Gilchrist-led Deccan Chargers won the titles. Both these teams, along with the Super Kings, are defunct now.


sunrisers hyderabad

This year, with the elimination of the Knight Riders on Wednesday (May 25), it was confirmed that the IPL will see a new champion. The Royal Challengers Bangalore will meet the winners of the second qualifier match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Gujarat Lions to be played at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Friday (May 27).


gujarat lions

While the Royal Challengers have reached the final twice before but lost on both occasions, the Sunrisers made their debut in the 2013 edition and the Gujarat Riots have made their maiden appearance this year.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...