IPL 2017 to start on April 5, confirms BCCI

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Feb 2: The 10th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2017) Twenty20 tournament will get under way on April 5, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed. (Full list of players retained for IPL 10)

Rai to head BCCI, says SC

In a media advisory last night (February 1), the Indian cricket board said, "the IPL 2017 season will commence as scheduled from 5th April 2017". The decision was made after a meeting between BCCI officials and the Committee of Administrators (COA).

IPL 2017 to start on April 5, confirms BCCI

"The Committee of Administrators (COA) met the concerned BCCI officials today (February 1) to take stock of the urgent and important matters mainly concerning the successful conduct of IPL 2017," BCCI said on Wednesday.

The Supreme Court recently appointed a four-member COA comprising of former Comptroller and Auditor General of India Vinod Rai, cricket historian Ramachandra Guha, Vikram Limaye, Managing Director of Infrastructure Development Fiance Company (IDFC) and former Indian women cricket captain Diana Edulji, to run BCCI.

"The COA has issued directions that the existing processes for availing the services and the appointment of the vendors for IPL will continue for this season.

"The COA further assures the Franchisees and all the stakeholders that all the IPL preparations will be promptly dealt with under the supervision and directions of the COA by the BCCI / IPL management team.

"The IPL operational timelines for 2017 season will be communicated shortly by the BCCI / IPL management team," BCCI added.

The IPL Players' Auction is likely to be held this month.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...