IPL 2016: Mumbai Indians to face Rising Pune Supergiants in opener on April 9

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, March 10: Mumbai Indians will open their title defence at home against new entrants Rising Pune Supergiants to kick-start the IPL 2016 on April 9 (Saturday).

Full list of squads for the tournament

The tournament opener will take place at the Wankhede Stadium, it was announced today (March 10). The final on May 29 will also be played in Mumbai.

File photo: Mumbai Indians' players celebrate with the IPL trophy in 2015

A total of 60 matches (including the 4 play-offs) will be played over a period of 51 days, in the ninth season of the tournament.

The Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium at Raipur will play host to two home games of Delhi Daredevils, while the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium at Nagpur will host three home games of Kings XI Punjab.

"All the top players from around the world will be seen in action this year. This season the IPL will be played at 10 venues – Mohali, Delhi, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Rajkot and Raipur. I am excited to join the fans to see a lot of exciting cricket over the next three months," IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla said.


Please Wait while comments are loading...