IPL 2016: Major records and statistics at a glance

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, June 5: The glitzy Indian Premier League (IPL) in its ninth edition recorded a 22 percent growth in its last week on Sony Max, Sony Six and Sony ESPN, a company release said on Thursday (June 2). (All results and scorecards)

Also there were 357 million viewers who witnessed the tournament, establishing it as the biggest television event in India.

Sunrisers Hyderabad players celebrate after winning IPL 2016

The credit for such great numbers could be the kind of matches played during the tournament and the way most celebrated batsmen and bowlers performed in the tournament. 

The highest-rated match in the 2016 edition of the IPL was the May 24 Qualifier I clash between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujarat Lions which saw a cumulative viewership of over 100 million. 

It was the IPL which saw the rise and rise of 'run machine' Virat Kohli and the first season in which MS Dhoni-led side failed to make it to the qualifiers. 

Here are some interesting statistics from the cash-rich league which was free of controversies.

Runs scored: 18862

Fours hit: 2590

Sixes hit: 638

Longest Sixes: 117

Fifties: 110

Centuries: 6

Fastest Fifty: 17 balls - Chris Morris (Delhi Vs Gujarat Lions) and Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians Vs Kolkata Knight Riders).

Fastest Hundred: 43 balls - AB de Villiers (RCB Vs Gujarat).

Most Centuries: Virat Kohli - 4

Biggest Win (Batting 1st): Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) beat Gujarat Lions (GL) by 144 runs.

Biggest Win (Batting 2nd): Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 10 wickets against Gujarat Lions.

Highest Team Score: RCB 248/3 against GL.

Last Ball Finishes: 4 matches.

Super Over: 0

Total Wickets fallen: 665.

Hat-tricks: 1 (Axar Patel - KXIP).

Fastest Ball: 150.31 Jason Holder (KKR).

Fair Play Award: Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Best Bowling: Adam Zampa (Rising Pune Super Giants) 6/19.

Highest Score: AB de Villiers 129* against GL

Highest run-scorer: Virat Kohli (973 runs)

Higest wickets: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (23 wickets)

Most Valuable player: Virat Kohli (356.5 points).

Television viewership: 357 million viewers.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...